CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Line Up 2x2 Before the Flood Lets Loose

2004-05-12� � 4:33 p.m.
I promised myself on Sunday that I would run. I managed to procrastinate until after 2 p.m., which was really dumb on my part.

First off, it was the hottest time of the day. And although I�m by no means complaining that it was finally above 80, it�s just not smart running to run at that hour when waiting a mere two hours or getting my ass outta the house earlier would net better weather. Considering that I should have been in a sports bra and a pair of shorts but instead opted for the tiny tee and my yoga Capri pants, I was easily overheated and wishing for some water or an actual excuse to stop.

Second, I knew that I�d try to come up with an excuse not to run. This means that I abstained from all food or liquids that day. I know my body needs fuel, but I also know that I can�t run with stomach cramps. Seeing that I run in a loop that never leaves me more than a half-mile from my house, the first sign of an upset belly would leave me running straight back home so I could rinse down a package of Swiss Cake Rolls with a delicious Diet Coke.

I ran my two friggin� miles (a decent run considering that I hadn�t run in weeks), and then I saw Helga as I came back home. She waited two minutes for me to put on a regular bra and some sandals before we met a mutual friend at North Avenue Beach.

The first day at the beach for the season was quite pleasant. My capris were too hot for even just sitting in the sand, but I stayed tough and chatted and played in the sand.

On Monday I was convinced that it was Thursday, thus throwing me off my plans. Repeat that for yesterday too, please.

Yeah. My internal calendar... It�s all messed up.

Benito�s in LA for a tradeshow and my best friend started back to work off maternity leave, leaving my IM window pretty quiet today. It�s been a drag of a day, and my current tasks at work make me want to poke my eyes with push-pins.

So yeah. You wonder why I haven�t written in a few days... That�s why. Boring-boring-boring.

There�s a crazy thunderstorm making its way toward downtown right now, so I�ll be cutting out early. I�ve promised to pack a few more boxes before I head over to Helga�s again tonight. Knowing that I�m moving (albeit just down the road) has prompted dinner invitations for nearly every night. I�m enjoying the company for now, so I�ll accept until I�m tired of it.

This weekend I�ve got plans galore, leaving me with several choices for the days I have off. Ya know, those days that I should be spending packing and cleaning and throwing stuff out.

On Friday night I�ll be showing off my lovely little apartment again and again and again. I love the Reader and its classifieds section. After all of that is done, Happy is meeting up at my place for a little hair dye action. I know I mentioned changing colors before, but now I have the dye in my bathroom cabinet and an accomplice in stupidity. Remembering what %%Lokicat%% told me long ago, I went with an ammonia-free variety that the hair guy swore wouldn�t make my hair any lighter. Semi-perm color -- Here I come! I expect to get plenty of laughs from this. We�ll see how it goes.

On Saturday the plans continue. I have the option of attending a crawfish boil if I don�t have to show my apartment anymore. (crossing fingers) A friend is considering coming into the city for dinner. Another friend is having a graduation party. And then my friends are trying to convince me that seeing this local band who plays at all of the street festivals would be a good idea.

On Sunday. [sigh] I need to pack and wash clothes sometime.

All right. I�m off. Weather Bug just chirped that the heavens are parting and the floods are a�comin�. Stay dry, everyone.



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com