CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

SanDiegoJo???

2003-09-15� � 9:52 p.m.

Usually this entry would be posted nice and early in the day, but I wanted to format, size, and arrange these pictures to maximize this entry's description of my trp to San Diego. It's no surprise that San Deigo was adored, as I have threatened to change my name to SanDiegoJo on occasion -- namely when the cold wind hits me so hard that it feels like a wet towel's been snapped across my bare ass. That analogy has little to do with my weekend trip, so I'll kindly get back on-topic.

I left work a bit early on Friday, as I hit my 40 hours pretty early. I high-tailed it to the blue line el, only to hit the safety of the CTA covering as large raindrops started falling. As always, my timing is impeccible. The ride to O'Hare was pleasant, and I got a nice surprise when my friend Matt tapped my shoulder and rode most of the way with me. I checked into the airport, confirmed my hotel information with a friend who was already in San Diego (for business, so I was merely scamming a bed at her company�s expense for two nights...), and settled with a Diet Coke before boarding my plane.

I once again avoided being frisked, although such action might have been nice. No more details, but my buddy Chandler-b is certainly getting a giggle at this mention.

The plane somehow left on-time, and they even gave me a vegan meal as I ordered. Because of the crappy weather, the connecting flight from Nashville didn't make it and everyone on our flight ended up with their own row. I stretched out and happily napped for most of the four hours.

Blah blah blah. I'll cut the crap and get to what I know you guys like to hear about: Me and the adventures part...

I met my friend at the hotel, tucked her into bed since she was working hard all night long, applied a fresh coat of lipstick, and headed towards the Gas Lamp District to see what fun I could find. A taxi driver gave me a free ride and showed me a bit of the area, and I happily wandered for about three minutes before a group of young guys asked where I was headed. I followed them into Star Bar, and we drank and acted merrily all night long.

I taxied it back to the hotel at about 3 a.m., and I slept the good drunk sleep once again.

The next morning my friend had a good laugh at me, seemingly surprised that I didn't have any ill effects from my night out. However, she did laugh at my "You Are Drunk, Place Clothes Here" pile, as I seemed to have acquired an additional article of clothing: a blue button-down men's Calvin Klein shirt. Apparently after my failed attempt the night before, I turned up the charm and got myself a souvenir. A nice men's shirt and I didn't even drunk make-out. Sooo, little brother can expect a nice shirt in the mail sometime soon. I think the light blue will go well with his green eyes! Ha ha.

(Side note: 30 days and counting thus far since I've had a drunken make-out session. Go me!)

One good thing about the trip to Cali was the time change differences. Because the bars there close at 2 a.m., it felt like I partied until 4. And then, when I woke up the next morning, it was as if I was an early bird, having gotten up at 8 a.m. their time. I don't sleeping my vacation away, so this was ideal.

I strapped on the rollerblades and worked at a leisurely pace all morning long. At this point I decided to actively seek fun. And who else would know about fun in the city better than the homeless folks? I made a pact to only talk with those who needed a shower from that point on, seeing where the vagabonds pointed me. All would have been good and well, but when I asked the homeless guys for a place where the people were young, outdoors, and friendly towards strangers and they pointed me to what ended up being a mall, I gave up on my homeless-lead fun.

I happened across a vegan Mexican restaurant, so I stopped in and took of the rollerblades. I enjoyed some rolled potato tacos topped with guacamole and the most beautiful sangria ever. Not only was it aesthetically pleasing, it also went down smoothly. $3 of heaven, I tell ya. If there had been more people in the restaurant, I'd have considered having another and hanging out a bit, but I threw the blades over my shoulder and got a move on things. 

In an odd turn of events, I found myself walking alongside a young man. His clothes matched and he didn't have the aroma of street on him, so I figured it was safe to ask where I could find meet the "young, outdoors, and friendly towards strangers" criteria in the area. He -- my new friend Scott -- walked and talked with me a while. When I mentioned that I was expecting more beach, he suggested we hop the train and go to one.

Without paying, I hopped the lightrail and we made our way to Ocean Beach. Immediately this felt like someplace I could love.

The water -- It was so blue.

The shops -- They were so cute.

The beach -- It was so clean.

The people -- They had the hippie mentality without the flakiness or patchouli stink.

I indeed instantly fell in love.

 

We walked to the water, dropped our stuff, and ran into the water. I got myself completely wet -- something I hadn't done in ocean water in years. We played in the sand and then made our way to the rocks. Geological formations abound, I loved running my feet over their smoothness and seeing what life had washed ashore. Amazing. Simply amazing. He told me about how he and his then-wife ended up in Ocean Beach six years ago, and I could imagine pulling a sleeping bag to the rocks, camping outdoors, and deciding to settle down there for good.

Scott and I shared a couple beers at a bar he enjoyed when that was his neighborhood, and then we made it back to the harbor so I could meet up with my friend for dinner.

We shared dinner at a highly recommended restaurant (thank you, Scott!), and we came back to the hotel and did some hardcore sleeping. After my day of fun in the sun and her day of dealing with the assholes she works with, we both needed the rest.

My stay the next day was just long enough to get some brunch by the harbor and take a walk around and before heading back to the airport. I made it back safely late last night and checked my mailbox before heading up the elevator. The trip ended the best way possible: with one bill and two paychecks in my box.

Ahhh -- Good stuff.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com