CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Missing Plans, DFW Stuff, and Brotherly Love

2003-09-29� � 1:22 p.m.
A few weeks ago I spent a week in Texas visiting my family, only to return to Chicago�s temperature having dropped 15 degrees from its comfortable norm. I went to Texas this weekend, and suddenly it�s colder than when I left. Like a high of 50 kinda cold. I wore a skirt and sandals all weekend because jeans and tennis shoes were too warm.

Me no likey this return home...

Looks like I have to buy some sweaters and stuff. Luckily I really like to wear the fuzzy clothes.

Like I mentioned, I took off to Dallas this weekend to visit my best friend and attend a bridal shower. I have to show up soon for the wedding, and I�m hoping the temperature won�t drop significantly upon my return.

My flight to Dallas made me feel like a circus clown fleeing the itty-bitty car.

The story begins on Friday night. I met up with the Lorinda and Brian crew for free beer at a very bad bar, and the lovely Oz also made an appearance. He was lovely, as were his friends. Dancing, drinking, laughing -- It was a good time indeed. He scampered to the next bar at a decent hour, and I made it home by 1:45. I thought ahead, set alarms, packed my suitcase, and got everything ready for my 8:15 flight.

Yeah, like that happened.

I checked online and found that there was a flight to Dallas every two hours, so I took my sweet little time, ate some breakfast, and moseyed to ORD to catch my 10:10 flight.

Yeah, like that happened.

One and a half stops away from the airport, my train sat and sat and sat. Every few moments the train�s conductor made an announcement about how there was an emergency situation ahead and how a bus would pick us up whenever we made it to the penultimate stop.

Waiting, waiting, waiting. Still on the train. Yadda yadda yadda.

Boring story short, I hopping the 11:55 plane and headed to Dallas. I stretched across my very own row and happily napped. Xtal picked me up, and we played.

I took some friends out to eat.

I threw a bridal shower.

I was amazed at the objects that come in crystal.

This morning I left my bed in Dallas at 4:00 to hop at 6 a.m. flight. It was crowded. It was cold. A sensor was out and maintenance had to take a looksie at the door latch. The woman next to me kept hitting me with her elbow but didn�t understand ANY English, and my pantomimes of her wringing her neck after poking her in her upper arm weren�t getting the message across.

But between the mess there, I do have one nice thing to say about this morning�s flight: I�m really glad that I�m a Teeny-Tiny, as I loosened my seatbelt, hugged my knees to my chest, and rested my head on my right knee.

I slept so well that I drooled on my fantastic pants and didn�t even give a shit. I slept happily and made it to work by ten.


Do a girl a favor and send the brother some love. Kyle is sixteen today! Yay! Happy birthday Kyle! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com