CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Friday: Rave Riot Skating and Out with L and B

2003-05-05� � 7:44 p.m.
On Friday night I went on my first rollerblading rave. The theme for this one was riot sites throughout history on Chicago turf. We bladed more than nine miles around the city, through the streets, and behind �Do Not Cross� signs. I met some nice, new people who want me to be a rollerblade leader (um, didn�t I just learn how to brake?!), and I had a great time.

We rolled into Melvin B�s bar afterwards where karaoke was being set up. I drank Diet Coke, part of my self-made pact from last week�s adventures. I hung out with the skaters and Lorinda and Brian showed up a little bit later.

By then the karaoke was well on its way with people belting out songs ranging from Elton John to Guns and Roses. Most people are able to ignore the singers, politely clapping when all is said and done, giving them a chance to take a bow.

Let me precede this part of the story by saying that Lorinda is the black Britney Spears, minus the large breasts. The girl has a cutesy voice that mimics the pop princess quite well. The night before, Lorinda karaoke-d to �Oops! I Did It Again!� and we decided to make her weekend karaoke-ing 2/2 with Britney songs.

Backing up even more, I have another story to explain my actions, despite only drinking Diet Coke. I have a friend. Let�s call her Ticolle. Ticolle really wanted the Darren�s Dance Grooves video that was played all over infomercials about a year ago. For those of you who ignore the TV during those three minutes between innings, this video promised to teach the latest dances from the videos of artists such as Britney Spears and N�Sync.

Nicolle -- I mean Ticolle -- was too embarrassed to buy this on her own, so I, being the greatest friend ever, sucked it up and ordered it online. Being a good friend, once again, I did the video with her. I now know the dance that Britney does in the chorus of �Crazy�.

I also stole the tape fair and square and am waiting for the right rainy afternoon to learn N�Sync�s �Bye-Bye-Bye� dance. [grin]

And because I didn�t want Lorinda to brave it alone, I, still on my rollerblades, was her backup dancer, getting Darren�s grooves on and being all authentic during the chorus. Brian got a couple pictures.

We were awesome! People actually paid attention, impressed with her Britney-esque voice and my spinning in circles and shaking my thang on blades.

Gotta love it.

I changed into going-out clothes and we went dancing.

The door guys at Hangge Uppe stopped Lorinda and me in line, and gave her a high-five and me a hug in reference to the previous weekend that you will never know anything about.

And when we walked in, the waitress said, �Bud Lights, right?�

Color us embarrassed.

I stayed alcohol-free all night. It was a good time, but I definitely noticed a lot more than usual.

What�s up with making out on the dance floor? And the lecherous stares? And spilling booze all over the place?

Sobriety: It was an entirely different experience. Something we all should witness occasionally. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com