CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Snotty Weekend

2005-03-28� � 5:29 p.m.
It�s been a long, busy week. Add to that the number of boogers I�m coughing up and blowing out, and you can understand why I have no desire to stay at work an extra 15 minutes to write entries.

I�ve been going home, drinking water, swallowing more cold meds, and then trying to go to sleep at a reasonable hour. But since I�m coughing like mad and repeatedly blowing an already-tender nose, sleep hasn�t come easily or been restful.

You know that Puffs Plus commercial where the kid�s nose moves when a tissue approaches it? That�s me, despite using name brand lotion-infused tissues and blowing lightly and only when necessary.

This weekend I sucked down enough meds to keep myself somewhat socialable.

Friday night was spent dyeing Easter eggs with my friend Happy and her roommate and vegging on her couch while watching TV. We got enthralled in a watching-a-train-wreck kinda way with HBO�s Real Sex. However, the show ended nicely with burlesque lessons to strippers and a very nice show that they put on after a little training. Happy and I decided that we should go to a burlesque show, figuring that a drag show was close enough.

Anyway, sex and TV aside, the eggs turned out well. I got some crayons, dye, vinegar, and glitter from Walgreen�s last night, and those were some fancier-then-thou eggs. You know how I like shiny things...

I made Benito his own special Easter egg. You can bet that there was glitter on it. Whee!

On Saturday I finally watched the highly recommended Before Sunrise. If you aren�t in a mood for things blowing up and don�t mind a little romance, it was a good movie. It�s a very simple movie, but it�s what makes it enjoyable.

I also watched I [heart] Hukabees with Benito (highly recommended) and another disc of the final season of Sex and the City when I went home on Sunday. We weren�t exactly feeling 100%, as we were both full of snot and goo.

On Easter we went to mass, went back to sleep, went to the museum, went back to sleep, and then went home.

I slept horribly the night before from all of the coughing. I don�t know how Benito slept, but he�d occasionally touch my arm or something and say in a sleepy voice that I really wasn�t bothering him. Come 8 o�clock the next morning, he proved that he wasn�t lying as he popped awake without issue.

Mass was okay. I�m not a godly type, but it�s good to attend something along these lines to question and solidify what you currently believe. Consider me solidified.

There were two funny moments during service. A little boy of about 2 or 3 was being held by his dad. The little boy kept leaning over and kissing dad�s cheek. Kiss, kiss, kiss, kiss, kiss -- and then I saw it coming. The little boy approached with his tongue out and gave dad a lick. Dad was surprised, and I almost laughed aloud.

I�ve attended Catholic mass before, but I�ve never seen the priest go down the aisle and sprinkle the crowd with what I assume was holy water. Being smaller than everyone around me, I didn�t see him coming. When he splashed in my direction, was I ever surprised!

The nap we took after church was a most-fantastic nap. I woke up twice in a puddle of drool. Since the night�s sleep left me lacking, this was much-needed and appreciated sleep.

Bless the Internets! Benito and I got tickets online to the Museum of Science and Industry and avoided a very long line to see a very popular exhibit, Body Worlds. (We also went into Game On and saw a bunch of old games and consoles.)

Body Worlds was really, really neat. Click the link above to learn more about it. Everything was presented well, and it was amazing to see what all we�ve got inside us.

Game On was pretty neat, as I got to watch Benito go from game to game, show me how to play it, and tell me about it. It wasn�t organized well, but they had a good collection of games from over the decades. Essentially it was an arcade of all sorts of stuff with free play on.

Bentio has a full arcade machine with something like 3,000 games on it and all of the most recent gaming systems, so I was familiar with some of what was there. The appeal just wasn�t what it could have been since I�ve gotten accustomed to being with a gamer with disposable income.

The afternoon at the museum was pleasant. Not too crowded. Not too many kids. Not too many idiotic parents. Not too many gum-chewers. Whew!

We headed back to his place for some Huckabees and couch time, and we once again fell asleep. When I woke up (no drooling this time), it was time for me to head home for SatC and couch time there.

Last night I just couldn�t get to sleep, but I forced myself to close my eyes at 2. I spent the entire night hacking until I thought my throat was raw and arranging, rearranging, and again rearranging the pillows to adjust to the cold side. When the alarm went off at 6, I swear I hadn�t slept a wink, re-set the alarm for the non-workout time of 8, and finally went to sleep.

Those two hours were blissful. Bless them.

So that about sums it up. Tonight I head to the gym to get two guest passes for tomorrow�s sampler classes (belly dancing and hip-hop), lift arms weights since I�m feeling tubby, and get to sleep at a decent hour.

Have a good night all.

P.S. Maybe I�ll remember to give my �I�m feeling tubby� rant. I�m sure someone out there has a bone to pick with bony me saying that I feel tubby. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com