CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

My Stats Tracker

2004-03-25� � 4:50 p.m.
I am highly entertained by my stats tracker.

Each day I peek through and see where people are looking from and how they got here. Most people click from their buddy list or from an email, some have me bookmarked on their browser, a surprising number search for �chicagojo� on google each day (despite www.chicagojo.com linking directly here), and some are just random search engine hits.

I love recognizing people�s views by where they�re coming from. However, there are others that leave me scratching my head. Someone from an upscale furniture store domain reads me. I got the school district domain figured out when I got an email last week. There are people from several universities who check each day and companies galore. I love the cable modem addresses that leave me with no info besides a city location or a country code.

Now don�t freak out. This information tells me hardly anything at all. Let�s pretend that you work for ChicagoJo Enterprises and that you read my site while on the clock. All it tells me is that someone from chicagojo.com visited the site. If you attend ChicagoJo University, it usually says something like labs.chicagojo.edu. The stats tracker doesn�t say that Jo at ChicagoJo Enterprises or ChicagoJo University was looking at my site -- just that someone from that location read through.

I usually don�t look places up, but today I got a domain that sounded vaguely familiar. I let it sit on the edge of my brain for a moment before killing the curiosity with a few keystrokes to my browser. I really wasn�t expecting to see what I saw either. And checking where the person came from, it was even more of a surprise.

A random google hit got someone associated with an ex -- if not he himself -- to my site.

It�s been weeks and weeks and weeks that tally more than a few months since we�ve had contact. And although I find it odd that this random google hit brought up my site, with my going out each weekend, any searches having to do with Chicago�s nightlife are bound to eventually bring up my site.

Bar names. Booze names. Alcohol-related activities. Dancing until 5 a.m.

They�re all just a google hit away.

It�s just odd that someone previously close could get another glimpse in. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com