CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Fake Springtime, Poor Jo, MySpace, and the Past

2006-03-31� � 4:13 p.m.
Spring has sprung, but don�t think that I�m about to fall for that one. It�s nearly 70, but I know tomorrow will drop nearly 30 degrees and leave me shaking my fist at Mama Nature.

That�s just how Chicago is.

This week has once again gotten away from me. A friend�s b-day party. Church class. Out for sushi and bubble tea. Nothing worth noting, although the sushi was delish.

As for tonight, I�m running out of options. One friend is in Wisconsin. Another is in the burbs. Another is in Vegas. Another is going to a live show. Another isn�t answering his email. Another is playing Golden Tee with the guys. Another is attending a get-together I don�t want to attend. Another I�m hanging out with tomorrow night and the night after.

Can we all say it: Poor Jo!

To get my mind off of things, I�ve punctuated my workday with browsing MySpace. I never understood what people meant when they said they were addicted to it. I�d by no means ever describe my interest as such, but I am amused by the people I�ve found on there.

A guy I once had a crush on now lives in Madrid, and he smokes.

Admitting this now makes me feel like a stalker, but whatever. Don�t tell me that you haven�t looked up people you formerly knew.

On the other hand, I don�t look up people I�m getting to know. Take heart potential baby-daddies. I�d rather not know your past.

Now that TBS reruns Sex in the City episodes, I occasionally grab an episode. The first one I saw in the edited way was the one where Carrie wonders if she needs to know about Berger�s past.

I�m in the camp that says that your previous business is your previous business. Past behavior is no indication of what you�ll be like with me, and I�m willing to give you a chance.

But, really, I make a good point here. I once said to a history teacher that studying history because �history repeats itself� is useless because there are always different variables. Maybe Catherine Zeta Jones really is awesome enough that you won�t want to give into your sex addiction. Maybe Tuesdays make you too tired to fight, so you stay (albeit complacently). Maybe you�re ready to settle down and Mrs. Conveniently-right-here is indeed conveniently right there. Maybe Osama bin Laden found Jesus and is turning the other cheek.

Whatever it is, there�s always going to be a possibility that things don�t turn out exactly as they previously did.

In sum: If you�re a jerk, I�ll find out soon enough. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com