CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Week in Review

2006-01-06� � 4:54 p.m.
Dammmmn, girl. You must have a lot going on if you haven�t updated in this long.r

Yes. Yes, I have.

On Monday I took it easy with unpacking and washing clothes and whatnot. Happy to be back in my home, I snuggled with my Hambone. My friend Happy came over for dinner and TV. As soon as she left, I was a good little resolution-er and a bad knee patient, and I strapped on my running shoes to lose some ass and enflame the knee that hurt so much previously and then mysteriously stopped hurting now that my doctor�s appointment loomed.

The run on the treadmill was fine. I didn�t do much when compared with where I was a few months ago (naturally, as one who is running a marathon runs a lot...), but I did enough to either prove that I didn�t need to see no stinkin� doctor or that I needed to buck it up and head out to the hospital and put a smile on my face while I was there.

All was fine, and I went to the doctor anyway on Tuesday afternoon. My doctor ended up being awesome. If you�re in Chicago and your knee hurts, I�ll gladly hand over her name and let you sit annoyed for a long time in her overcrowded waiting room. When you meet her, you won�t be annoyed anymore.

X-rays show that there�s nothing torn on my knee. No tearing = no surgery. No surgery = I get to keep working out if I take certain precautions. Special insoles. Not being a maniac when it comes to running. A little physical therapy here and there. So on and so forth.

On Tuesday night I ventured out to meet some girls I got in contact with through the Internet. Yeah, it was initially a little weird to know that I was meeting strangers in a bar. However, everyone turned out to be quite nice. Two girls ended up pretty awesome, and we�ve been emailing each other. I�m quite pleased with this little group, and there are plenty more activities to attend where I can meet even more people. We�ve already made plans for this Saturday, and it should be interesting.

I haven't been to this particular bar in ages... And only when it was *really* late in the night... When nothing else was open... When I might have been so drunk that I shook my fine J-Lo ass like you wouldn't believe... Or something like that...

But The People spoke, and The People wanted to dance, and this booty-shakin� bar it was. I can at least put my thing down, flip it, and reverse it while there.

Anyway, while at the dinner we went around the table and gave a quick intro of ourselves. People were pretty amused by my upcoming ukulele lessons, my joining the Chic@go G@y M3n's Ch0ir, my teaching GED math classes, my upcoming certification for screening poor children for glasses, my writing a book in a month, and my springtime coaching middle school girls for a 5k race while running lots of races myself.

Yes, I'm crazy. And, yes, they all asked why it was that I was still looking for things to do. Ha.

On Wednesday I was supposed to go to a football-watching party, but I forgot. It happens. I just received some packages that I shipped from Texas, so I was busy going through those. I was on the treadmill for about 30 minutes when this guy came in and asked if he could change the TV to football.

Sure thing, whatever. I�ve already seen this episode of DUM DUM (a.k.a. Law and Order).

So he turned the station, and I�m looking. Oh, those sure are some white uniforms. There�s a little bit of orange on there too. Oh no! I�m missing that get-together.

Oh well. I had a good run, and I unloaded all of my loot from the holidays.

Last night was non-stop. After work I went home to unload the final holiday box. Knowing that I was on a time crunch, I headed out to the running store for some new insoles, per the doctor�s advice. I successfully convinced the guy who helped me to give me a discount, and then I walked half a mile to the grocery store.

I loaded up -- and I do mean loaded up -- on tons of food. On the way out I ran into a friend I hadn�t seen since before April since she oohed and aahed over my hair short. We vowed to catch up next week since we work near each other, and I scampered off to the bus to get home.

Once home, everything got put up, I made some dinner, and then I headed back into the cold in prettier clothes to a once-a-month rockabilly jam session. It wasn�t my scene, but I hung out with a friend and met a nice person who offered to show me around his real estate office. If nothing else, now I know what the monthly event is all about, and I made a new contact.

For some reason there was no sleeping last night. So I read a book and a half, programmed the heart rate monitor my dad got me for Christmas, and dilly dallied around until 3:30. Knowing that was ridiculous, I laid down and rested for a few hours before the sun was up, the house was chilly, and I had to get up for work.

To compensate for the baggy eyes, I look super hot today. Go me!

Midday I met up with a new friend who I met on Tuesday night for some Jamba Juice goodness. Damn, I love me some Jamba. I also love skipping out on work in the middle of the day when things are getting hectic and I need a breather. I�ve been in need of a good breather in the office for quite a while, and this was much appreciated.

In a few I�m off to the gym with my friend Happy for a kick-your-ass bootcamp class, and later we�re going to the movies to see Brokeback Mountain.

I�ve got a shit-ton of stuff planned for this weekend. Looks like you�ll have to wait until Monday to hear all about it.

La la la.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com