CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Today, Today, Today

2005-05-23� � 5:16 p.m.
In my guestbook, from Bethany9:

You, and your WORKING OUT, and EATING HEALTHY, and like, READING!!!!!

That made my day, starting it off with a laugh. Thank you, hon!

Yes, I work out regularly. I eat healthy foods. (Mmm, prunes! My latest favorite!) I read quite a bit, usually Pulitzer Prize fiction novels lately since I�m trying to read them all.

I don�t think this will make anyone feel any better, but:

Yesterday was hot, so I only ran 3 miles in the afternoon heat. I at least did it at a very fast pace to try to make up for it, and then I stopped in my condo�s gym to lift arms weights too.

I ate 45 fat free Pringles yesterday too. It�s the most junk food I�ve eaten in a while, yet there�s hardly anything in them to really worry about too much.

I barely made a dent in The Shipping News and instead opted to read my new Runner�s World magazine and half of last week�s Newsweek that is all about George Washington.

Today I slept in as much as possible instead of doing a morning run, am craving a Wendy�s Spicy Chicken sandwich and a biggie fries like you wouldn�t believe, and want to screw reading and go to tonight�s baseball game instead.

Actually, the after-work plans involve a quick run (hopefully), cleaning myself up, heading to Wrigley since I indeed have two tickets in the 200-level section for tonight�s Astros-Cubs game, and then heading to Benito�s house.

He may go to the game with me, but he isn�t sure if he�ll be off of work in time. I�ll call for a back-up if he can�t go, only to abandon him or her for my man immediately after the game.

Come on, now. Don�t give me the stink eye! I haven�t seen him in a week, and he�s got a new episode of LOST on the Tivo.

(In a completely unrelated side note of something that I remembered last night, here�s a snippet of conversation from when we went out for sushi a week and a half ago:

Benito: My place is a wreck. I�ve been working so much that everything�s piled up. I need to hire a maid so badly.

Me: Sounds like you need a wife.

Benito: [silent blank stare]

Me: Do you think she�d clean my house too?

Sometimes I�m sooo funny.)

So, yeah. A new LOST tonight, and a two-hour episode this week. And then new LOST until the new season. Boo!

Onto a bulleted list of stuff as I think of it:

-- I�ve been eBaying lately... I just ordered the PC game for Law and Order. As if I don�t have 1,000 other things going on these days. (Ya know -- reading, running, and eating organic hippie foods.)

-- Read this story. (It�s short, so go ahead. I�ll wait for you.) The last quote is really something. It�s amazing that people really think this way. I guess it�s similar to many USAers blaming all brown folks for 9/11 when it was merely a small set of crazies who just happen to have brown skin. But now that I think about it more, it�s nothing like that. The US has no history (at least to my knowledge) of making lakes disappear.

-- I want a Wendy�s Spicy Chicken Sandwich like you wouldn�t believe. Really.

-- I miss Jack in the Box commercials. There aren�t JitB restaurants here, so there are no commercials. I completely forgot about them until just right now.

-- Why do people put up banner ads that link to a crappy entry? You will never see me run a banner ad unless I�ve got something worth reading up. Do note that I haven�t run a banner ad in months. Months...

-- This weekend is a 10-mile race that ends on the 50-yard line of Solider Field. I�m not too pleased with the longer-than-usual distance or the fact that the race starts at 7:30 in the morning (gasp!), but that�s gonna be an awesome finish line. If nothing else, I�ll be back at my house and in bed by 10:30. Living downtown is awesome.

-- This weekend I went to Grant Park with some friends and threw around a baseball and a football. There wasn�t much else to the afternoon, but being in the sun all afternoon sufficiently pooped me out and left me napping on the couch for much of the night.

-- I can catch a football like you wouldn�t believe, but I throw like a wuss. Actually, I throw it like a baseball. It�s a direct, overhand toss. Remember that my hands are tiny, and getting them onto the laces is nearly impossible.

-- I throw a baseball or a softball quite well, and my fielding is rather good too. I played infield when I was in my young Little League days, and I switched to outfield once everyone got strong enough to actually hit it out there and someone needed to be able to run, dive, and catch the balls. Now when I play in leagues, I generally play second base since leagues require equal numbers of male and female infielders, and it�s a weaker infield position that still requires someone who can catch and throw.

-- I completely forgot that next Monday is a holiday. Yay for holiday pay!

-- Benito and I talked about the pros and cons of the upcoming job situation. I also talked with someone at work who brought up some good points on why he stays. There�s lots to consider if a change is in my future. I know that options are good... But ARGH. I prefer when decisions are easy.

-- My friend Happy has a gym membership at my gym, and she reported back that the Friday afternoon Boot Camp class is awesome. I�ve never worked out in the middle of the day since transporting all of my stuff to the gym, changing, working out, cleaning, changing, and going back to work takes quite a while; but I think I�ll try out the Boot Camp class. It�s only one day per week, on the day that I usually leave at 3 p.m., so it shouldn�t be too big a deal.

-- Benito has confirmed that he�s getting off work early to go to the game with me. YAY YAY YAY!

On that note, I�m outta here. Have a good night, and think happy thoughts about the Astros.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com