CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Voicemail Saves Me

2003-06-16� � 6:40 p.m.
I don�t want a fulltime permanent position when I haven�t yet really established myself in this city or know how long I want to live here. I don�t want to work 50+ hours per week and �do the work of three�. I don�t want to work for a company who hasn�t had a press release since October 2002, even if they were announcing a very big client signing. Simply, I know this isn�t a long-term job for me and don�t want to mislead anybody.

On the other hand, after six (splendid) months of being unemployed, I�d be a royal jerk to not accept the job, the opportunity, and the inflated paycheck.

Here lies the problem I felt at 9:00 this morning when I found out that I wouldn�t get word on the contract job I really, really want until tomorrow afternoon.

After much consideration and writing a couple emails to friends, I came to my conclusion: C#1 isn�t where I want to work, and I�m willing to let the opportunity pass even if I don�t get the contract job I want.

At 4:30 I finally worked myself up to calling C#1 and declining their very generous offer. And what did I get after four glorious rings?

The woman�s voicemail!!!!

I left a generic message, �This is ChicagoJo. Please return my call at 312-555-1212.�

I have got to be the luckiest bitch ever.

Tomorrow I hit my final interview with the contract gig at 9 a.m., and then I will find out almost immediately whether or not I�ll be working there. When I get the final word, I�ll give C#1 a call to accept or decline based on what happens in the morning�s meeting.

So no matter what happens tomorrow, I won�t be turning down a job when I don�t have another immediately available.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com