CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Weekend

2004-08-30� � 4:56 p.m.
This weekend. It was a good one.

Friday night I went out with Friend Group #2 (who, I might add, has overtaken Friend Group #1 in that they are infinitely cooler to hang out with and don�t continually invite sucky people they admittedly dislike). Friend Group #2 consists of one single guy and a few people with significant others who are out with their friends for the night. It works out well.

Free beer at some crowded bar. $5 cover to another place where some band is playing. I leave at 12:00 because I am sleepy. I had four beers in these 4.5 hours, so I�m by no means drunk.

Drunk, I am not. However, lost I get.

I ended up walking an extra half mile to the next el stop. There are people around, but I�m still scared. I make it to the el to find out that I missed the 12:27 train to the loop, leaving me to go north to catch the other train back south to walk three blocks to my house. I�m the only one on the platform, and I�m hot, tired, and ready to go home. Grrrr.

I made it home an hour after I left the bar, I kid you not.

Three miles away. One hour. Argh.

The next morning I�m up and at �em, cleaning and organizing, as usual. Benito calls me to meet him and a friend at this new construction condo I noticed the other day. The friend is condo shopping, and I�m along to spout opinions and other options.

Sky Bridge is awesome, and it was looking like the absolutely winner -- especially after seeing the second place with its funky floor plan, tiny living area, wasted space in the bathroom, and obvious need for an electrician in the den.

On a whim on my way out the door, I asked the realtors in the lobby what they had to show that day. The right number of bedrooms and bathrooms, in the right price range -- BINGO!

After looking at the other two, we walked to my building. I got to see what this other floor plan looked like, and it was awesome. HUGE living area, big master bedroom, nice bathrooms, etc. (I�d link, but no thanks to any would-be stalkers...) He really, really liked it.

To finish things off, I took him down eight floors to show him what he could get for the price of six Volkswagen Jettas fewer, and it was a no-go. There�s something about having my unit scoffed at as a sales tool to show people with a bigger bankroll what they�d get if they were a lot cheaper with their Benjamins -- Ha! (I kid, I kid. My unit is awesome, but it fits what I want and not what someone with a flatscreen TV would want.)

I got friendly (no, not like that) with the realtor after the friend and Benito left, and I found out the situation with the sale and how the price was really, really negotiable and how he could throw in a parking spot too.

On a side note, I really think I should be a realtor. I enjoy looking at houses a lot and finding things that I think my friends would like. The next time I�m unemployed, I�ll take the six-week course for the heck of it and see what I think. If nothing else, I can represent myself in my next buy or sale and throw the 3-4% commission onto the next place�s principle and pay for the class and my six weeks off.

Anyway, I spent the rest of the afternoon sulking with an angry uterus. When Benito came over later that night, we heeded the contracting muscle�s advice and stayed in to watch Momento. I enjoyed the movie a lot until the ending, but it was worth a couple hours nonetheless.

We slept waaaay in on Sunday for no reason other than it was too dark in my house with the blinds closed to tell otherwise, helped Happy move in (she�s temporarily here until her apartment becomes available in a couple weeks), and then headed to the suburbs. We helped raise Walmart�s stock price (and it is slightly up as of this writing) and support our local economy.

Soon after I was dropped off at home, Happy came by. She worked on her master�s thesis all night as I cleaned the kitchen, made breakfast for the week, worked out, and made today�s lunch. I offered to make her a PB&J too, but she declined. I think my domestic lifestyle is a bit much for her, as she commented on my �adult furniture� multiple times. We�ll see how long until she questions me scrubbing the sink four times a night.

Today�s been a really boring work day. I got to work about an hour earlier than usual to help make up for the hours missed during Benito�s birthday. And knowing that next Monday will also eat up some hours, I�m trying to brace myself for then too. Luckily everything�s on my computer instead of on the network, meaning that I can work on this at home too.

Oh the exciting life I lead.

Seriously, y�all. Why do you read me sometimes?

Oh yes. This is why...

Only three more weeks until I head to Vegas with the lovely Crowhihs! Woo, bay-bee!

As I�ve said before, I�ve never been to Vegas. However, I�m pretty sure it�ll bring out the gambling and alcoholism that runs so rampantly in my genes. I�ve got to remember to fix my digicam* so I can take pictures of the ridiculousness that will surely follow.

*On NYE while Benito and I drunkenly ran home, I dropped my digicam and somehow changed the language to something Asian. I�ve been using the camera for eight months now in this other language without issues, but now I�m getting an error message that I can�t read and need to be able to decipher to diagnose the camera�s issue.

Oh the excitement! Oh the excitement! I want to pack n-o-w!

I want a charged-up cell phone so I can call Benito in the middle of one of his 8,000 daily meetings to tell him that I won $100k and a Dodge Viper.

I want sparkly shirts and high heels.

I want to drinky ultra-limey vodka tonics, some cosmopolitans, or just some yummy beer like Honkers, New Castle, Bells, or Blue Moon until I giggle a whole bunch and my world spins just a little bit.

Yes, that�s what you have to look forward to reading about in three weeks. Until then, I�ll tell you about how I finally hung my medicine cabinet all by myself and how it involved using an electric drill and everything.

Just three more weeks, guys. Hang in there! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com