CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

What Not to do on a Weeknight, Etc.

2005-02-10� � 4:55 p.m.
1 cosmo
1 dessert martini
1 shot of watermelon kamikaze
1 dirty martini

A joke I read in Maxim comes to mind:

How are martinis like breasts?

One is not enough, and three is too many.

I went out last night with people from work. It ends up that my work buddy knew the restaurant�s manager quite well, so we were taken care of for the night: $55 for a tab of five people who drank more than I did and had four full meals.

I was home around 11, talked with Benito for a while, and then went blissfully to sleep by 12:30.

When I woke up for work there was no hangover. However, hours and hours later, I�ve got a headache and am desperately needing a nap.

Argh.

It�s hard to imagine how many times I went out during the week just a couple years ago. I don�t see how my body did it.


I read this article recently, and it got me thinking.

Of everyone I can think of, Benito and I are the only ones without roommates and who own our houses.

In Austin, Chicago, and everywhere else my friends live, most live together and fit this description pretty well.

I was thinking about why it is that there�s now this in-between step that separates adolescence and adulthood, and I think their point about postponing marriage hits on it a bit.

50% of our parents are divorced. We�re really the first generation where this is common. After witnessing how crappy a divorce can be, it seems that we�re all waiting for the one-and-only, always-gonna-want-you-around, you�re-really-and-truly-so-friggin�-fabulous-and-the-only-one-for-me person to be with.

We�re not compromising because we don�t have to.

Although I don�t fit the description (I have steady employment in a decent tax bracket, I have multiple retirement accounts, I own my own home, I have no roommate, etc.), I don�t really see anything wrong with the Twixter lifestyle.

Be happy. Don�t harm anyone else.

(Then again, those two statements seem to wrap up my beliefs on damn near anything.)

I might switch job paths in the near future, but it�ll be with a hefty bankroll saved to support me during the slow times. The retirement accounts will always have maximum contributions added unless some dire event occurs that prevents it. I intend on continuing to own a home from now on -- again, so long as I can. I refuse to have a roommate in any situation.

But then again, I also do what I can to keep myself happy. I make moves constantly to increase this happiness. (Really, is there any reason not to exceed where you currently are with regards to this?) I have an active social life with people I enjoy being around. I prefer not having the responsibility of kids at this point. I love having a boyfriend who I know I�m not compromising a single what-if factor on.

So what is wrong with Twixters and those like me who are merely a ring and a full uterus away from approaching official adulthood? There�s no harm in being ready for these things before encountering them. Actually, it�s best that we not settle, not accept, and not jump into those life events we don�t think we can currently handle.

If nothing else, we�re preparing a whole new generation of happy folks. If great cheese comes from happy cows, won�t happier future generations come from happy parents?

Enough on that. My retarded-ass coworkers have distracted me.


Look at me! Look at me! I�m bad too!

Apparently North Korea hasn�t been given enough attention lately, so they spill their guts about having nuclear weapons. If I could do that IM with the rolling eyes, I would.

North Korea is such the middle child.


Info on the extra-special Crowhihs fundraiser for the American Cancer Society coming soon!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com