CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Holidays are Comin'

2004-10-28� � 7:01 p.m.
NaNoWriMo planning didn�t happen last night. Instead of continuing to write my storyline, I finished reading a book and read another 100 pages of another.

I somehow am starting to think that this whole November writing thing is going to be wholly successful. We�ll see...

In addition to Dani-Pilgrim (who wrote 51,000 words last year -- whee!) and MissPinkKate (who is already pretending to chicken out), three others have also pledged to write 50,000 words during November. Let�s give a big ol� shout-out to Macrocarpa, Crowhihs, and Juddhole for their stated efforts.

Tonight�s efforts will likely again be duped, as I�ve already agreed to attend a movie night at a friend�s house. Starsky and Hutch doesn�t start until 9, so I have a little bit of time between working late, working out, showering, and eating dinner that I might be able to use.

It really depends on how late I work tonight. [Argh, I say as I look at the clock right now...]

All sorts of stuff blew up at work yesterday. Very little of the debris has hit me directly, but it�s still been a pain in the butt. Have you ever noticed that when things blow up, there are 28 meetings held to keep everyone informed that actually just keep us from actually fixing the issues.

This, my friends, is why I�m working late.

That and because the project manager for this project is now being a persnickety butt-wipe with an eye for perfection. It�s making me crazy, y�all. Crazy.

Corporate America. [sigh]

At least my employer is cool about letting me work extra hours to turn in for pay during the holidays.

Speaking of the holidays, because I purchased my DFW trip at just the right time, ATA is giving me 20% off my next trip. And as an added bonus, they said that I can take someone along with me and get 20% off of their trip too!

So it looks like Benito and I will be synching up the schedules and flying to DFW together, only to immediately rent a car (something I was going to do anyway) and drive to Houston.

We�re at least in agreement that NYE will be spent in Chicago. Other than that, we�ll just have to flip a coin on the rest of the trip with hopes that we can agree on the number of days, which days to travel, etc.

As for Xmas, I love thinking of presents that someone will love but wouldn�t think to buy. However, Benito is too damn fast with the ATM card to allow me to get him any surprises for gift-giving holidays.

For instance, I once saw that there was such a thing as wireless videogame controllers. Seeing that he�s got all of the gaming systems and a couple controllers for each, there are wires everywhere. I started looking them up online for which ones were best for each system, getting pretty familiar with what�s listed and reviewed on Amazon.

One day we�re in Best Buy and he says something along the lines of wanting a wireless controller. I�m all, �Oh? They have such a thing?� and trying to play it cool. He hems and haws a little over not knowing which is best, blah blah blah, and we leave the store with no wireless game controllers in-hand.

Time goes by, and nothing is said about them again.

By now I know that such-and-such model is the way to go with both the Xbox and PS2, but that Nintendo actually makes their brand of controllers. There are even two models by the preferred company for the PS2, and one seems to be liked more than the other.

We go into Best Buy again, this time to look at some game where you can rap along all DDR-like because he knew I�d get a kick out of reading the song list. (It includes Humpty Dance and Gin and Juice if you�re wondering...) He notices the dang controllers again, this time clearly more interested in them.

�Oh man, I really want these. I can�t stand my wires all over the place. I wonder which is the best of these?�

As he reaches for the brand that only got so-so reviews when the 4.5 out of 5 stars controller is right next to him, I sway his hand away. �This one has better reviews. It�s a bit heavier than what you�re used to, but it�s got a good range and doesn�t eat batteries like the other one. You might need to put a little tape on the left joystick because it gets slippery without the rubber texture.�

He�s shocked. But if there�s one thing he�s learned from ignoring my stock predictions, it�s that Jo Knows.

PS2 wireless controller. Xbox wireless controller. Nintendo wireless controller. All in the cart.

Xmas brainstorming begins again. We�ll see what I come up with.


Quickies

I think this is going to become a regular section, as I usually have small bits and pieces that aren�t necessarily linked to anything I normally have to say.

********

The Onion posted recently posted a voting guide (no link since it was copied, pasted, and then emailed to me). They listed reasons to vote, and my absolutely favorite was �Remember to vote, or P. Diddy will kill you.�

�He�ll will bust a cap for democracy!�
-- Autumn-kitty

What�s with P. Diddy these days? Is he so capitalistically powerful that he no longer has a legal or marketing team telling him what he can and can�t do? With the Sue-Happys out there, I wouldn�t be surprised if a crazy stabs a non-voter in the name of P. Diddy telling him what to do and then claims damages for, well, being crazy.

I can already see the headline on November 3rd reads: 40% of America Gunned Down by P. Diddy!!

********

When�s the last time you cleaned off your work computer of your non-work-related items?

Today I cleaned off so much stuff. Pictures, writing samples, other peoples� resumes, silly graphics that I put on my desktop, etc.

So. Much. Crap.

However, if I ever felt the urge to stick it to the man and walk out of work, it would take me exactly three minutes to clear out my Recycle Bin and grab my desk gnome, un-flowering plant, and GAP body lotion.

That�s a good feeling.

********

All righty. I�m out. It�s too dang late to still be at work.

G�nite all.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com