CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Semi-Interesting Work Stuff

2003-07-18� � 2:52 p.m.
I made a man laugh today. There�s a TV screen in each elevator that flashes news headlines and other informational tidbits. This gives everyone something to do while riding up thirty-something floors because -- god forbid -- someone talk while on the elevator.

Today�s word of the day came on:

imperturbable

(ADJ.) IM-PER-TER-BAH-BUL -- Calm and collected.

All the best snooker players are imperturbable.

In our elevator-riding silence, I asked, �What the heck is snooker?�


Today�s lunch marks one of the highlights of my career working in high-tech. In celebration of our latest methodologies release, the documentation team shared a liquid lunch of half-price mojitos at a local watering hole.

Man, I love my job.

[wipes tear from my eye]


I was riding the el the other day when an older man started talking with me. We got on the topic of work, and I mentioned my employer. He got suddenly smug.

"Oh, you must do well there. They only hire young, attractive people."

Without hesitation I copped back, "Gee, I'd like to think it's my five years experience consulting for some of the largest tech companies in the world that got me my job..."

When I come back so perfectly, I can't help but feel my pride swell.

The car then went over a bump, my big head hit the back of my seat, and it promptly deflated.


Have you ever noticed �elevator symmetry�? Whenever someone gets on or off the elevator, everyone shifts in an attempt to create the perfect distribution of space between bodies.

And when someone doesn�t follow the elevator symmetry code and invades too much of your space, you feel oddly uncomfortable.

Follow the symmetry code and give a sista some space.


Yesterday it was raining so badly that I stayed at work until 8:15. Because I felt a little cheated being at work as the sky grew darker and darker, I finally got around to welcoming everyone to the diaryrings I moderate. With dial-up at home, I never wanted to take the time to go through all of the emails from Andrew. When I come across a new diary, I like to do a little reading. I need the speed that work�s T1 line provides.

So to all of you following a link from your freshly signed guestbook, �Hello there.�

And if you happen to be a good-looking man from the ages of 22 to 32, �Hey there handsome. How YOU doin�?�


Remind me to tell you about my latest decision as far as dating goes. I�m adopting a new strategy, and I may need a little work-of-mouth to help out with this one.


Yesterday I also ran a handful of banner ads to bring in new readers. Everything worked out pretty well. Here are the two I ran:

One again, props to work�s kick-ass connection for letting me check me stats every three minutes. I think half of the hits were from me alone, all excited that more and more people are reading that which I painstakingly compose for you and only you every weekday.

So to all of you following up after clicking one of my snazzy banner ads, �Hello there.�

And if you happen to be a good-looking man from the ages of 22 to 32�

Wait a sec. We�ve already been there.

If you�re new, here are a few good entries to read to get you caught up with TAoCJ:

Ham�s First City Walk

The Coyote Ugly Trilogy

Other Retarded Things My Dad Has Done

Sharing a Moment Over Hippie Tea

If you have a favorite entry, let the guestbook know.


Okay. Back to work. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com