CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Weekend of my 25th B-day

2004-10-18� � 6:28 p.m.
On Friday I left work early, carried a bunch of stuff to Happy�s, and then went out for pedicures. I got a lovely, sparkly lavender on my toes, vowing to only patronize that pedicure shop, as the lady did such a great job with everything.

Upon returning, I manned the grill (I trust my cooking more than anyone else�s) and made a yummy, yummy dinner for all. We started the night with mojitos, and the few girls there early and I got ready after we finished up the grillins.

As expected, I got a few cat-calls when I emerged from changing into my pretty clothes. I also got another mojito.

I then had a sangria.

And then another sangria.

And then a mai tai.

And then a Miller High Life.

And then another Miller High Life.

And then I don�t remember.

But I was told that we left the house for a nearby bar. I remember seeing one friend and his roommate, but that�s it.

The birthday party was fun. I had a great time, and it seemed like everyone else did too. Somehow Benito and I got home safely, and this is where things went Jo-typical for my birthday: Benito and I got into a fight.

I recall being a royal jerk, him getting mad, and us doing a bit more than sticking our tongues at each other and calling each other buttheads.

I don�t remember exactly what all went down, but I felt badly about it, knowing that I was the jerk-jerk-jerk.

I woke up at 10:30 the next morning and stumbled to get a glass of water. Knowing that he was likely as bad off as I was, I got him a glass of water too. I figured it also wouldn�t hurt, just in case he was still mad at the more-than-sticking-my-tongue-out-at-him bit.

At 12:00 I again got up and stumbled to the headache medicine. I took mine and left him two by his untouched glass of water.

He got up sometime, and I let the world continue to spin. And spin it did.

I eventually made it into the livingroom to apologize for being a jerk. But in true Benito fashion, he made me all lovey over him even more so than before by declaring that he also didn�t remember why we were mad at each other and that it must not have been that big a deal.

He�s not just loads of fun, exceedingly fantastic, and incredibly handsome -- The man�s as logical as they come, and I much appreciate that. I have a no-drama rule with friends and boyfriends alike, and he constantly exceeds that and all of my other expectations. That Benito [sigh] He�s somethin� else.

I felt like crap so much that we lounged on the couch until I couldn�t stand the hunger pangs anymore. We went to our usual Italian restaurant for carbs to help absorb anything poisonous left in our systems. The only problem with this was that it had dropped ten degrees since the day before, measuring in at a very cold 42.

Don�t think that I can�t handle the cold, now. It�s just that I was poorly dressed for this meteorological happening. Since Benito and I left the bar the night before without letting me know, I left my bag of clothes at Happy�s house. The bag of clothes with jeans, boots, and turtlenecks in it.

So still dressed in my lingerie top, a 3/4-sleeved button-up shirt, a light pair of slacks, and my strappy sandals, we scampered the three streets to the restaurant, hoping that I wouldn�t freeze before then.

Dinner was yummy as this Italian restaurant always is, but we were definitely ready to head back to the house for more rest. Had I had my keys with me, we would have driven a non-traffic-y mile down the road to my house for nearer shut-eye, but we again returned to Benito�s house.

Shut-eye. A Tivo�ed episode of Lost. The opening of b-day presents (wrapped with the sparkliest blue wrapping paper ever!) with the theme of �Everything�s Blue�. Rest, rest, rest. Drink lots of water. Rest, rest some more. Come 9 p.m., I was roused and we got ourselves together for the final present of the birthday theme.

He tricked me. He totally, totally tricked me. He hurried me along, saying that we had a long drive. When he turned east instead of west toward the highway, I was a little turned around; but I figured Lake Shore Drive was the travel route instead of 90/94. But when he turned a mere mile away from his house and starting looking for parking a few blocks from there, I was confused. We entered the theater parking lot, and the attendant asked, �You here for Blue Man Group?�

Aaaaahhhhhh! Yay, yay, yay!

I had seen them on something where they did this drumming thing with pipes and thought it was very cool. Other than the drumming pipes thing, I didn�t know what to expect -- No clue.

BMG was very cool, and it was a great top-off surprise for the �Everything�s Blue� birthday bash. I can�t believe I didn�t guess it beforehand, but Benito did a good job of fooling me into not making any guesses to what it could be.

On Sunday we slept way in. We slept until the point where his friends were ringing to come into his place to each chips and salsa and watch football. Being awoken like that throws me off a bit, but I fared pretty well. I watched the first football game with them (wearing a new [and blue] Roy Williams jersey) and then excusing myself for a walk to enjoy the weather and give the boys alone-time.

The weather was fantastic on Sunday, so I walked about 3/4 a mile to my favorite thrift store. I picked up three winter shirts for $2 each and a $5 jacket that fit really well. However, when the lady said that the jacket was actually $10, I had her put it back on the shelf. $10 -- sheesh!

[Okay. Quit looking at me like that. Recall that I�m a thrift shopper extraordinaire, and that I scoff the high prices. $10 for a used jacket is too much unless it�s a full-out winter coat.]

I returned a good deal later, and they were playing videogames instead of watching football. Seeing three grown men trying to navigate and play Pikman cracked me up. Instead of laughing at their excitement of building enough of a Pikman army to pick up half a globe, I quietly read an Esquire and grinned just out of their lines of sight.

The two guys left after the second round of football games were over, and Benito and I palled around the house until halftime of the third set of games. He shed a tear over losing his first fantasy football game (especially since his final score was 30 points more than everyone else that week except for his opponent), and I wiped it away and reminded him that there was always next week.

And that�s the story of the weekend I turned 25.


And in topics unrelated to this weekend:

I got email from the Astros saying that I didn�t get chosen for the lottery to have the chance to purchase home game World Series tickets (if they make it), but all is well. They won yesterday, so I�m happy. Hopefully they and Boston can keep that up. And then Boston can knock it off and let Houston continue with all of that jazz. Go �stros!

And in fashion news, someone else agrees with me about the poncho craze.

I may or may not have found my future bedroom furniture at Sears. Yes, I�m just as shocked as you are.

That is all. I actually worked today, so I have no extra goodies for you. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com