CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

3,535,203 People Disagree with You

2004-11-03� � 5:05 p.m.
When discussing anything political, I like to point out that no matter what your opinion is, 50% of the U.S. disagrees with you. No matter the topic, this is almost always true.

But in last night's case, I have to amend my usual statement: 51% of the U.S. disagrees with you.

At least we won�t have any stupid hanging chad jokes for the next month. I�d certainly poke my eyes out if that were the case.

Despite yesterday�s entry of �[shrug], whatever� on the topic of voting, I did indeed vote. I cast my presidential vote based off the topic I chose most important since both candidates were only so-so on my actual political beliefs, and then I voted Libertarian every chance I got. (Read: Once.) I also voted no to keeping any of the current judges (they stay in office for too long, and it shouldn�t be an elected position anyway), and there was only one tax-raising question in my precinct.

Illinois is either a sad, sad state, or my precinct blows. In most categories, I only had one option for each open position. Although I understand that it�s damn near impossible for anyone beside a democrat to win in this blasted city, wouldn�t it be nice to at least have two democrats to choose from?

I�m also a bit down on Obama right now. He�s known forever that he was going to win by a landslide, and yet he continued raising money and making his rounds to rouse the voters. Like all elections, so much money is spent to bolster careers that could actually go to help people in need. This isn�t a direct criticism of Obama; he�s just the closest-to-home candidate that I know who didn�t have to campaign past giving his rousing DNC speech.

Millions of dollars. Hungry people. $4b spent on the presidential election alone. [sigh]

Of everything that went on yesterday, there was one thing that affects me directly that really got me hopping mad: The g-damn post office was closed.

CLOSED!

I took off of work for 45 minutes to vote, and that included the time it took for me to walk home to get a piece of mail to confirm that I indeed live where I live, walk to the voting location, stand in line, punch-punch-punch some little bitty holes, get lunch at Taco Bell, and stop to buy some tape at Walgreens.

Mind you, I walk as fast as the wind blowing off of Lake Michigan. But even if the nice ladies at the post office took their sweet-ass time to get to the polls and got them some Taco Bell afterwards, it still wouldn�t have taken an entire workday.

I get all shaky-fist old man get-off-my-lawn style just thinking about it.

And now to end any political rhetoric from now until 2008 when Hilary likely makes her rounds [shudder], I�d like to point out that the current top searches on MSN are Melbourne Cup, free thanksgiving wallpaper, thanksgiving wallpaper, thanksgiving screensavers, and polling places.

No one should have problems finding any holiday decorations for his or her computer.

Whew! What a relief!


Quickies

After finished work yesterday I headed to Benito�s house for dinner and some TV and smoochin� time. It�s always a good evening if Benito�s around. Sweet, sweet boy [kiss, kiss, kiss, kiss]

There was a lot of traffic this morning, so I got to work 9 minutes late. Not a big deal considering just how late I was the day before.

Last week something big blew up at work, so I�ve been working all sorts of OT to make everything work out a-okay. On Monday night that involved staying at work until 10:15. Once I got home, ate a bowl of cereal for dinner, and got ready for bed, I was no longer tired.

I last saw the clock blink 4:30. And considering that I had the alarm set for 6:00 so I could go vote, workout, and then get to work early, it�s completely reasonable that I turned off the alarm when it started going off then. At 9:30 (the new 9:30, so 10:30 in body-sleepy-time) I awoke in a slight panic, called into work to say I was obviously running late, and got there by 10. Argh.

Nobody seemed to care, so whatever.

********

I seem to have a delay in my foot falling asleep. The way I sit at work commonly makes my legs numb; however, I don�t feel its effects until I�m far away from my desk, generally either in the bathroom or while refilling my water in the break room.

This makes me hobble the entire way from one side of the building to the other until sufficient blood flow resumes. By then I hit it just right where I can sit down and make it numb all over again. Why the delay?

********

Hambone seems to be doing significantly better since the scare we had on Saturday. He loves his new food, I trick him into taking his kitty morphine each morning, and he�s only mildly resisting taking his liquid antibiotics.

On Monday he full-out peed. And yesterday he peed small amounts here and there.

After reading a bunch of kitty urinary tracts and their problems, I got a little freaked out. I just went home for 45 minutes to rest a little and to also feel his bladder. It feels like a water balloon instead of a peach, so we�re all good.

We go back for a follow-up visit on Saturday and to get his yearly exam, his teeth cleaned, and to get his kidneys checked. Kitty isn�t going to like this vet visit, but until he learns English to communicate his wishes, he gets no say in things.

********

Up until this morning when the political blogs took over, I was the #1 google hit for �P. Diddy will kill you,� ahead of even The Onion.

You don�t know how happy this makes me. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com