CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Eight is Great

2005-07-07� � 3:29 p.m.
Eight days without an update! What the frig?! Let�s just forget about it and move along with the entry.

Last Friday morning I headed out nice and early for the airport. I had all of my shit together; however, US Airways did not.

After a plane breaking and changing terminals and some general lolly gagging, I called my uncle to let him know that I was definitely missing my connecting flight and that I�d call when I knew I was getting there.

Two minutes later a very tired and frustrated airline employee made an announcement that they were looking for someone to give up his or her seat in exchange for a roundtrip ticket for anywhere in the 48 contiguous states, Canada, and parts of the Caribbean.

As soon as she said �Caribbean,� my hand shot up. If I was going to spend the afternoon palling around an airport anyway, I might as well get something out of it.

She pulled up my info, proclaimed that I was in luck, and got me on a direct flight to the po-dunk airport that was leaving in 20 minutes.

So not only did I get a direct flight that got me to my destination an hour and a half earlier than planned with a free ticket for later use, I left before my original flight�s crew members even thought about letting people set foot on the plane.

Yahoo!

The flight was smooth, and my aunt found me at the arriving airport without any issues. Twenty minutes later we were at her place and poolside, waiting for the rest of the family to show up.

Much of the weekend was actually spent poolside with a beer in one hand and a veggie burger in the other. I got a lot of sun, which was surprising given the amount of sunscreen I slathered on and my usual tendency to burn instead of brown.

There isn�t much to note about the weekend, but it was fun. Just me and 57 of my relatives hanging out and having a good time...

This weekend will be significantly more low-key, as I�m going camping with a herd of friends in Wisconsin. My friend Happy and I are leaving on tonight to hit the Dells all day on Friday. Everyone else is still working, so we�ll dictate the day.

So, what�s new since I last updated?

Well, I at least let you know that things were back on in BeniJo land. Please allow me to gush for about 30 seconds.

Apparently this is right what we needed. A few weeks apart really showed me what I had and how much I really do appreciate it, and it seems the same for him. We�re laughing more, touching more, and talking more.

Despite him working 15-20 hour days right now, I�m seeing him more often than before. It takes a certain amount of flexibility and compromise, but it�s worth it.

And in super gushy news... As impossible as it seems, I love him about 8,000 times more than I did a month ago, and that number gains daily. It�s like compounded interest or something. And what�s not to like about that?

After flying home on Monday and spending the night with Benito, this entire week has had me running around like crazy.

On Tuesday I ran errands with my friend Happy. We went grocery shopping for all sorts of camping goodies, and then we stopped at Target for a must-resist-the-impulse-items trip. I ended up with the stuff on my list and a present for a friend having a baby in the next month. Not too shabby.

And now my shoes that are thrown into a small basket on my closet floor thank me for their very own rack, and I can replace the light bulbs in my hallway�s track lighting. Yahoo!

One funny moment was when Happy and I were in the feminine hygiene aisle and I spotted a pack of 98 panty liners for only $4. And although my arm initially went toward the big box, I decided against it. I�d merely be tempting fate and opening myself up to getting pregnant. Because everyone knows that when you let your eyes be bigger than whatever it is that you�re trying to fill, you�re punished.

Panty liner gluttony? If my belly hurts when I eat four rolls of sushi myself, I�m gonna watch myself and not let anything affect my hoo-ha.

So there. Two smaller, 98-cent packs were purchased. I�ll let my uterus stay empty for as long as possible, thankyouverymuch.

Speaking of pregnancy and whatnot, I�ve certainly been eating like I�m pregnant lately. I don�t know what the deal is, but I�m insatiable. I just had 16 small powdered donuts. What�s the deal, yo?

Last night was another lovely real estate class. I�m so almost finished with that. Benito picked me up from a friend�s house, and we got some much-needed sushi. We were so hungry that we got six different rolls. That�s something like 36 pieces of sushi between us...

After dinner, we promptly went back to his place and passed out from a sushi coma.

Gotta love that.

This morning I got up, showered, and readied myself for work before nudging Benito to awake and drive me to the Loop. I got curbside drop-off to the office, and I�ve been trying not to fall asleep since then. It�s under one hour until I go home.

Once home I�ve got to pack like a mofo for this weekend�s camping trip, go for as quick a run as I can muster, and then clean myself up before Happy arrives at my place at 7:30. I already feel rushed. Ugh.

But once we�re on the road, all is good. Whee!

All right. It�s time to finish some work stuff before the day ends. Enjoy your weekend, everyone. Hopefully I�ll have more time next week to write more often.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com