CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Adventures?

2005-04-26� � 4:55 p.m.
(Written yesterday while putzing around after work. I forgot to post it...)


On Friday night when Benito and I got together for dinner, we were talking about this blog. Apparently I have little to say these days that isn�t just a run-down of what I did or a rant on someone being stupid. And since there�s little I dislike more than those blogs, I�m trying not to let this become one of those places.

The grown-up blogs on Diaryland are dying. Even TranceJen is only updating once a day, if even that. And seeing that my youngest reads are two college seniors who are fast-approaching graduation, I can�t respond to any younguns claiming that I should read them because they are updating before school, during second period, during lunch, after school, and then right before bed.

The general topics that affect the under-21, over-35, and married-with-kids populations really just don�t interest me. I have my d-land peeps, and we�re all currently living life instead of documenting it.

There�s one diary that�s been here for-freaking-ever that was the end-all, be-all for funny diaries back in the day. In the past year, it�s just been an exercise in keeping the masses happy, and that�s what I feel like I�m doing. If I don�t write, I let people down -- even if I�m just writing crap over the past several months.

Benito�s response? "Go have some more adventures!"

So be it. Adventures will come. Until then, you�ve been warned.

Prior to Benito coming over on Friday night, I got my first shipment of Netflix goodies in. (So long super-slow Blockbuster�s version of Netflix!) Included in the envelopes was a Nova special called The Miracle of Life.

Yes, I have Nova specials in my queue.

For the rest of the night, I had all sorts of fun facts to share with Benito:

Did you know that men make 1,000 sperms every second?

That each, um, load contains 300,000,000 sperms, 60% of which are junk?

That a female�s egg is released with a bunch of helper cells to support it?

That 365,000 children are conceived each day?

That there�s only a few-hour time period that women can get pregnant each month -- if even that?

Enough with the science lesson...

After dinner, Benito and I lounged on the couch. He�s been working like mad lately because he has an event this week in San Francisco that is a really big deal. We worked all sorts of hours that week, until 4 a.m. the night before, and until nearly 9 that night. The man was spent. We caught up on our lives (and kissin�) that night, only to wake up early the next morning for the NFL draft.

At a friend�s house, I watched with them the first few people in the first round. I remember Cedric Benson coming in as a freshman at UT, and it was neat to see him selected as a Bear and be so emotional about it. I get all choked up just thinking about it. GO CEDRIC!

Benito temporarily left the draft to drop me off at my friend Happy�s house for a day of girlie fun while he worked some more.

Happy�s aunt and sister were in town, so there was a lot of catching up and getting-to-know-you stuff. We had tickets to the Cub�s game, but it was too damn cold and rainy for that. After lunch at a nearby Thai restaurant, the aunt departed for her hotel, and we girls headed to my favorite consignment shop.

My tally: a REAL winter jacket (Kenneth Cole), a scarf, a Banana Republic pencil skirt, a pair of jeans, and a black Banana Republic v-neck. Go me!

Everyone else also scored, but they clearly have different thrifting standards than I do. Those fancy-schmancy shoppers ventured into the full-price room without issue, as I stayed in the 50-75% off room the entire time. And as expected, I got everything I got for $40 as one other friend got one sweater and one jacket for the same price.

We walked back to Happy�s house, and a couple little girls stopped us to see if we wanted to buy a flower. These flowers were very obviously from Happy�s garden. Luckily she doesn�t care where her perennials end up. We coughed up a buck, got Happy�s flowers back, and hoped that their parents didn�t catch them pruning the neighbors� yards for fresh pickings.

We parted ways with plans to meet in just a couple hours for dinner. I relaxed a bit (the crappy weather will wear anyone out), and then got dressed in work clothes for our fancy-schmancy dinner with her aunt and her aunt�s best friend.

We met at the aunt�s hotel a bit before our reservations to meet the aunt�s best friend. They were college roommates who met 39 years ago, and they were so cute together. I only hope that one day I�ll have my nieces calling me cute in my interactions with long-time girlfriends.

The aunt�s friend had special reservations to Gibson�s made by the restaurant�s owner himself, as she and his wife are good friends and neighbors. (Usually there�s quite a waiting list, so this was extra-special.) After one round at the bar, our table was ready.

Bread, salads, two bottles of wine, meals all around, two side dishes, and a mountainous dessert filled us up entirely. Combined with great conversation, it was a most-wonderful evening that I hope to get to repeat with that same company again.

One funny note: I was the only one at the table asked if I was at least 21. I think my new haircut throws people off since I pull it back on the sides with bobby pins.

We parted ways with the aunt and her friend after photos and hugs, and the girls and I went home to change into jeans. I donned my new jeans and black v-neck with knee-high boots and a fitted leather jacket. (Can you say HOT?!)

The girls and I headed to a dive bar near Happy�s house where a band called the Underwater People were playing. For those of you familiar with Chicago�s street festivals, the Underwater People are the mid-90s version of Mike and Joe. They covered everything, and they were a good bit of fun.

After a ho-hum time people-watching, we abandoned our table and headed to the dance floor to get our groove on. The crowd was equally as great as the band, as everyone danced with everyone else without that overlying jump-your-bones quality.

We ended the night when the band closed up shop, and we stopped at the nearby White Hen for some Gatorade, knowing that we�d want it by our bedsides the next day. This White Hen stop was quite surreal, as the sister made friendly with the two cashiers who called us by name and laughed at our drunken silliness. We scored free Laffy Taffy, gave out some high-fives, and left for home.

Once home, I answered a drunk-dial from a friend in Texas and talked until 4:30 in the morning. After that, I fell fast asleep until noon the next day.

After I awoke and showered, I talked with Benito for a few minutes, as he went into work for another full day.

I spent my day mostly indoors with Hambone, watching Spy Kids, Chicago, and one DVD of Law and Order and reading a Newsweek. After an on-the-go Saturday, it was a great way to spend my day of rest.

The only way to have made it better was if Benito was there to lounge too. However, things will slow down soon enough and I�ll get him back before I know it. HURRY UP, WORK PROJECT!!

Another great part of yesterday was that I laid down at 11 for bedtime. I�m really, really trying to get to bed early enough before I get any second winds that keep me up until 3 o�clock, and I think forcing sleep at 11 will do the trick.

If there�s no hope at finding my 11 o�clock refuge, I did buy some sleeping stuff to help when needed.

Tonight I�m going to run along the lakefront path, so hopefully that�ll wear me out enough to get my needed shut-eye. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com