CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Foul, Foul Mood

2003-04-17� � 5:44 p.m.
What are you looking at?

Yes, that�s right. You�ve caught me in a foul mood. I�m as grumpy as I get, and that kicks the shit outta Snow White�s whiny little friend. What did he have to bitch about? You know he was hittin� dat ass while the rest of the dwarfs were of working in the woods.

Okay, so what do I really have to complain about? I have my health. I have a place to live. I have money in the bank to continue floating my unemployed ass for several more months. And don�t forget that I also have my Hambone -- a.k.a. The Greatest Cat Ever.

Things really aren�t that bad. I�m betting that my glands have just squished out too little of the juice that keeps me happy and the recent few let-downs are getting to me.

First off, I was supposed to have company at the end of March. But by the end of February, that friend had yet to request time off work or even peek at airfare availability. I may do my taxes at the last minute, but there are some things that you shouldn�t procrastinate so much on. I quit with the reminders, and the trip was soon forgotten.

Then last weekend I was supposed to have company from another friend. And then when I found out that he too had yet to buy his ticket, request time off, or make any plans, I decided to take up the Wisconsin company�s offer to go to Vegas and do some work for them. My friend was upset that I canceled on him, but come on now... You don�t just get a plane ticket at the last minute, expect it at a good price, and assume that your employer doesn�t mind you skipping town.

Wouldn�t ya know that nothing came together and the Vegas trip gets canceled? And since I didn�t do any work, I don�t get to bill them for anything.

This weekend I was supposed to have another friend come and visit. I got a call yesterday confirming everything, that we would meet for lunch on Friday afternoon, and that we�d party like rock stars during the short trip. This morning�s phone call was less than pleasant.

Canceled. Canceled. Canceled. Canceled.

And it�s cold again.

And I�ve sent out 159 resumes (72 this month) with only two official interviews and a bunch of crickets chirping in the background.

And I�m out of rice milk, so I can�t make a smoothie.

And did I mention that I�m GRUMPY? �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com