CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Yeah, So it's Been Awhile...

2004-09-02� � 6:24 p.m.
Yesterday = Boring. The day before = Boring. So that�s why no entries. I didn�t even have anything to complain about. This morning, however...

This morning I had a stinky walk to work. Everywhere I went, there were people smoking. And because of the number of people on the sidewalk, there was no avoiding the fumes.

Here�s your morning service announcement:

There is no nicotine addition so strong that requires that you smoke and walk at the same time. I�ve never seen a heroin addict shoot up while en route to work, and I know the come-down off of that causes actual, physical pain. There�s no reason to take your few breaths off a cigarette where others are affected, so reserve this morning ritual for when you get near your office building and can stand outside, very obviously smoking, and being very avoidable if others don�t want to smell it.

So after identifying the smoker on each street, placing myself out of the smoke trail, and generally just holding my breath, I was finally in the home stretch with no Marlboro men in sight. All I had to do was make it across the street and into the revolving doors, and all would be good.

Alas, an old man casually cut me off. An old man wearing Obsession cologne. And old, stinky-smelling man who walked a lot slower than me.

Meh.

Getting out of bed yesterday was like trying to pry a lollipop for a very insistent two-year-old�s hands. I would try to get up, but whatever in the bed that was sticky would pull be back. And since the end result is that she who tries to remove the lollipop ends up just as sticky as the lolly itself, I just let the alarm go off until 8:45 -- the drop-dead time for waking up to get ready and get to work by 9.

I was so droopy that I had to forgo the planned outfit that would involve pantyhose and shoes that smell worse than the really yummy cheese. Instead it was a nicely fitted black shirt, my Perfect Pants in grey, and my favorite strappy sandals that are most definitely out of work�s dress code. Feeling cute and putting on eye shadow helped a bit, and they�re keeping me truckin�.

Today I wore the regularly planned outfit including the pantyhose. I look quite cute, if I do say so myself.

Some back story to the droopiness:

The day before, Happy defended her master�s thesis (something on welding fumes and how the particles penetrate the welders� lungs), so she called everyone to go out for some beers. Being a good friend who is proud of her accomplishments, I attended. I nursed my two beers as people came and went, but being out until midnight was what got me. After showering and getting my stuff together for the next day, I went to bed after 1 a.m.

Although I routinely stay up this late on a typical night, I�m usually reading, writing, cleaning, or doing something else that�s only mildly exerting. Going out and being social, only to return after the bewitching hour on a work night takes a lot out of me -- especially when I was up at 7 a.m. that morning.

So yeah, dragging ass... I eventually got over it.

Last night I also stayed up late, but I did my regular nightly reading before hitting the hay. This morning�s waking was much, much easier (and much, much earlier too). So there�s definitely something to be said about what I do before bed that makes me sleep better. I got to work at 8:45, only to find that my Internet wasn�t working. Blech!

As mentioned in this entry by Heeland Lass, I was thinking about how much my online life and my real life cross over. In some instances (I�m looking at you, you, you, you, you, you, you, you, you, and you), they already do. But in others, it�s just weird how often my brain wraps around to them.

When I walk into my office each morning, I think about Brain-dump when I see the floral arrangement in the lobby. When I drink red wine, I think about Heeland Lass. Things blowing up and radio reports, Dangerspouse. Retarded dogs and hockey, Judd Hole. All things vintage, One Wet Leg. Choptards, Pork Tornado. Etc., etc., etc.

I could go on and on about other connections to other diaries, but it would just be more linkage lovin�. If I didn�t list you, you can always ask what it is that reminds me of you, and I�ll leave you a note in the guestbook.

Some random stuff:

Last night I cleaned out my shower, and I got Ajax in my eye. Luckily I had the shower�s nozzle running, so I submerged my right eye while reading the container with my left. It just said to rinse, so rinse I did. If my right eye suddenly goes blind, we�ll all know why. However, all seems cool this morning.

My company forgot to pay me for two weeks, so I got three paychecks directly deposited into my account yesterday afternoon. It�s crazy what a difference three paychecks will make.

My building publicly posts who is late on paying their monthly building assessments. There�s nobody on my floor to give dirty looks to, but it�s crazy how many people will just not pay their bills. What�s even more amazing is the number of people who will repeatedly not pay their bills. Some people are well into the thousands in what they owe the association.

And a quote from today�s Bigot of the Day, Alan Keyes:

"If we embrace homosexuality as a proper basis for marriage, we are saying that it's possible to have a marriage state that in principle excludes procreation and is based simply on the premise of selfish hedonism," the senate candidate told [radio] hosts Michelangelo Signorile and Corey Johnson.

One question: Are straight people who choose not to have children also indulging in selfish hedonism?

Just wondering...�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com