CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

I Got the Transportation Blues

2003-03-05� � 4:55 p.m.
Last night I was supposed to take part in Neighbors Night Out and attend some form of Mardi Gras party on Division Street. Well, I decided to take a small adventure on the bus line and ended up not making it back home until after 12:30 this morning.

I still haven�t gotten used to the North-South and East-West directions, making navigation a bit difficult. Within my own neighborhood, I can find my way home. But God forbid you drop me off at Wrigleyville or Lincoln Park.

Yes, I understand the grid system. [sigh] Will you quit asking me that?

It really seems that the people here know all of the roads. My street extends only for a few blocks, but when I say its name, people nod and say, �Oh -- Gold Coast! Nice area!�

How in the heck do they know all of this? If you gave me a random neighborhood street name (Woodhollow) in Austin, there�s no way I would know exactly where that was. Now, if you said you lived off of the main road (Far West), sure thing. I could definitely find you.

Anyway. There�s snow on the ground. I have cabin fever.

Is it summer yet?!



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com