CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Channeled Carnies Play Volleyball, but They DO NOT Paint Posters

2004-01-15� � 9:24 a.m.
For those who are curious, this is what I had to eat for dinner this week:

-- Spaghetti
-- Stirfry
-- Collard greens
-- Fiddle-faddle and some veggie corn dogs

So there. I�m an equal-opportunity foodist. I even channeled the spirit of a carnie for last night�s grub.


Speaking of last night, Happy and I hung out. She had a guest pass to her gym and wanted to take part in the open gym volleyball. I agreed to be her partner in suckage, but such was not the case.

This summer I royally stunk it up on the beach courts, unable to keep my footing, losing all jumping ability, and not having enough of a serve to do much at all. However, last night was different.

My new sneakers gripped the gym floor nicely, giving me enough traction to effectively play the back row and receive serves.

The steady grounding (and my run-faster-jump-higher shoes) gave me the ups needed for me in my midgethood to actually spike the ball on a men�s height net.

And most exciting, I saw major results in my recent gains of upper body strength, as my serves proved.

Those serves were unstoppable. And considering that I had to stand ten feet behind the service line to keep in within the bounds, you really could call me Muscles McGee.

You don�t wanna high-five me. I�m likely to accidentally rip your arm off.

After 90 minutes of competitive volleyball, Happy and I went back to her place to make a birthday sign for Lorinda�s upcoming birthday extravaganza.

Events take place this Saturday. The drunken, asinine behavior commences at 8 p.m. with a pre-game get-together at Happy�s place. The cake was ordered last night, and the sign was colored and glittered after volleyball.

If you thought my room-painting skills were crappy, don�t ask me to make you a poster either. That glitter glue is really hard to squeeze out! However it turns out, it was made with love.

G�day all. I need to get some work done.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com