CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

What This White Person Eats, and My Walgreen's Manager

2004-01-13� � 5:23 p.m.
I just turned eight whole documents over to my current manager, and received a response about me being so speedy. Since I don�t want to set up unrealistic expectations from here on out, I�m taking some time to write an update.


I got an odd comment in my guestbook about white people liking bland foods. The �he he� leads me to believe it�s all in good fun, but I laughed aloud for an entirely different reason.

Why did I laugh, you ask?

Let me tell you about what I had for dinner last night.

Xeran was nice enough to send me a vegan book (sorry for no thank you note yet -- I just checked my mail and had all sorts of goodies), and I�ve been flipping through it and looking for some cool new ideas.

I went through the first few chapters with some hmmms and maybes, but it wasn�t until the vegetables-as-a-main-dish section that something caught my eye that I just had to try: Cajun-Spiced Collard Greens!

With the kick of cayenne, the flavor of thyme, and a good dose of Tony Chachere�s (I didn�t know what fil� was, and Tony�s is definitely Cajun), this collard greens and tomatoes mixture over brown rice was damn yummy.

So yeah. White people like spicy things too. And this white person like spicy collard greens a lot.

[grin] to you, my guestbook signing friend.

So after writing that up, I took myself a little trip to Walgreen�s to get some more Wheat Thins. They were on-sale, so I bought myself two boxes for my desk. Now I need little baggies to keep my paws out of the box during the day.

While at Walgreen�s, I encountered the manager. I guess between my trips there for workplace stress or PMS materials (2L of Diet Coke and a bag of chips), he started to recognize me. The first time he said something to me, I came into the store with no coat on, having stupidly braved the 30-degree weather.

The second time he greeted me when I entered the store, I had a big ol� nasty coldsore. He made a recommendation of Abreva, but I resisted his $15 tube of drugs and stuck with the aspirin paste and the overdose quantities of lysine.

The next time he saw me, he noted that my coldsore healed nicely. This being two weeks after the fact, I was a little creeped out.

Since I gave up Diet Coke (for the most part anyway -- I have no promise to myself, but I�ve just not downed a bunch like I previously was), I haven�t been to Walgreen�s in a while.

Today�s Wheat Thin craving brought me into the store, and the manager was there again.

�Ahh -- I see you have your coat on today! Need it with this wind!�

I think I have me a stalker.

Do you think if I make out with him I would get a discount on my Wheat Thins and the occasional Diet Coke?

Nah. I didn�t think so. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com