CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Thoughts and Feelings Dichotomy

2006-01-17� � 3:06 p.m.
I�ve gotten some recent emails asking about my current state of mind. You readers aren�t getting anything besides the surface level of what�s going on with me: this is what I�m doing, where I�m going, and who I go with.

That�s that.

In all actuality, I�m pretty fucking miserable for a whole host of Benito-related reasons. If you want to read something sub-surface, go to the archives and read a few passages from this past June.

Then multiply it by 5.

Right now I�m struggling with the thinking and feeling parts of my brain. I�m the first to admit that I keep a strict dichotomy between the two as a defense mechanism. In the words of Rob in High Fidelity:

Well, I've been listening to my guts since I was 14 years old, and frankly speaking, I've come to the conclusion that my guts have shit for brains.

I have this notion that if you think with your head, you protect your heart. For the most part, I�m right. You protect yourself when you think rationally. There�s no clouding a decision because of hopes, fears, or insecurities. On a comical note, it�s all so very He�s Just Not that Into You.

But on the other hand, I�m completely wrong. My head-head-head efforts are getting their asses kicked by a single heartstring pluck -- not even a full-fledged tug.

I�m to the point where I�m wavering between thinking I�m absolutely delusional and knowing that I�m right about what I�m both thinking and feeling.

I�m onto a line of thought that I�m finding pretty interesting. It�s all about emotional responsibility. With emotional responsibility there is a From and a To section. And when those aren�t balanced, any awkwardness can be interpreted as insecurity, dependency, need, etc. -- traits that are generally very unattractive.

Whereas I don�t think it�s wrong to need someone, per se, it�s certainly a hard thing to admit when you�re a stubborn mule.

I spent two weeks in Dallas sitting on my best friend Astral�s couch, crying and puking as she took care of me. I had scented bath confetti at my disposal, small bowls of food for when I tried to eat, the blender on the counter to easily make the SlimFast smoothies that actually stayed down, small trips out of the house to distract me, and the freedom to do whatever, whenever and not have to be held accountable or judged for any of it.

I initially resented being taken care of, thinking that there�s no way someone as strong as I am should be acting the way I was. But now I recognize it as my feeling part of the brain being given the luxury of pouring in a safe environment.

And a luxury it indeed was.

Under normal circumstances I�d have to trudge out of my empty home to work, sit in a cubicle surrounded by people who don�t know me, cry quietly so no one noticed, and then trudge home where I�m left to my own thoughts and surroundings.

Mass from two weeks ago was about recognizing small signs around me. And although none has pointed in a definite direction or asked me what I�d like, I�ve at least acknowledged that they�re there.

From a chance meeting with a friend-of-a-friend�s wife. To a secret being told and understood as I thought no one could. To a confidential conversation with someone the other day. To a search that resulted in interesting returns. To a guy asking me on a date and me accepting reluctantly, only to have to cancel for completely unrelated and unpreventable reasons. To last week�s mass where the theme was �So here I am...�

So, really. Here I am. Speak to me. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com