CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Death by Durango

2007-03-27� � 12:38 p.m.
Back in the day, my ex was fully convinced that my insistence on crossing the street while dodging traffic was going to be the end of me. I deemed it Death by Taxi, and it was a constant joke. I�ve admittedly had plenty of near-misses, but last night was the first time that I was full-on hit by a car.

Correction: I was hit by a truck.

I know I�ve previously told the story where I was holding a parking spot for someone (standing in an empty spot while on my cell phone with him) when a very insistent driver attempted to parallel park into me, assuming I�d get out of the way. When I reminded her that she was attempting/committing assault with a deadly weapon and that I would not hesitate to call the police and press charges, she took off.

So yesterday I was walking down the street in the middle of downtown, completely following the traffic signs. When green, I went. When red, I stopped. I was following the laws of the land.

Halfway through a crosswalk, I felt myself nudged by something, only to turn to the left and see the grill of a big-ass Dodge. I thought, �Oh fuck. This is the end,� and I checked the crosswalk to make sure I was indeed crossing while I was supposed to be crossing.

While expecting to go under the tire, this is what I think of. That the little white man was there -- not the solid red, or the ever-present blinking red. Call it a Dying with Dignity moment or what have you, but I felt a little bit better knowing that I was in the right.

The driver immediately stopped, contorted her face into an expression that can only be described as, �Oh fuck, fuck, fuckery fuck,� and sat there horrified.

Some guy from off the street was immediately next to me, checking to make sure I was okay. After the initial shock, I started crying, shaking, and laughing that nervous laughter you can�t really explain.

�Are you sure you�re okay? Sure you�re all right? Is there anything I can do?�

I couldn�t point the guy out of a line-up, but he was very nice as I stood there in a haze, shaking a bit, and not saying much more than that I was okay.

Unbeknownst to me, even when I�m shaking, crying, and completely freaking out, I�ve still got it going on.

Missed connection: you almost got hit by a car - m4w � 25



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com