CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

It�s My Duty to Eat Pie for Dinner

2003-04-05� � 10:21 p.m.
Tonight Herbie and I tried to go bowling. We scored some primo parking and went to this bar with both pool tables and a bowling alley inside. The entire bowling area was closed off for a private party and my asthmatic lungs were too grouchy to stand being in the billiards room. The thick cloud of nicotine and various chemicals hung around like Whitney Houston near a crack house.

[How�s that for an Uncle Bob-style metaphor? Okay, I�ll work on it.]

We weren�t going to let our first attempt at fun be spoiled, so we scurried off to the next bar to play some pool. We were met at the front door by signs saying that there too was a private party at that drinking establishment.

Mikey-fickey companies paying big dollar to let their employees play free pool...

When I did that project for Samsung, I got to be friends with O. O�s husband was out of town and she mentioned stopping by Marie Calendar�s to get a pie for dinner. My �You can�t eat pie for dinner!� was met by a speech with a very logical point: I have no kids to set an example for, so I should take advantage of my freedom to eat pie for dinner!

So Herbie takes me to the see-and-be-seen Sugar for some dessert instead of dinner. Both of our deserts were laid out all ornamental-like, reminding me of the only thing I like about sushi: the presentation. I had some super-chocolately cake with goo in the middle, chocolate ice cream, chocolate syrup on top, and this side of some not-quite-liquid white chocolate. He had the cr�me brule that looked like it had bean sprouts in its layers.

All-in-all, it was a good dinner.

I felt a little silly, so on the way home I stopped at the ghetto grocery store and buy some cottage cheese to make up for my irresponsibility.

Ah... There�s nothing like a low fat source of calcium and protein to get me feeling like an adult again. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com