CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Chicago News and Friday Five

2003-06-20� � 4:13 p.m.
Yesterday while walking home there was all sorts of commotion at State and Lake. People were gawking, and there were police and firemen all over. Knowing that I�d hear about it later, I kept on walking. I guess I knew that if I saw something -- anything -- it was probably something I wouldn�t want to see.

Well, this article tells everything blow-by-blow. That just sucks. Note to self: Don�t cross the blue line on the ground. They put it there for a reason, and they really mean it.


And since I�m doing an out-of-character mid-day entry, I�ll go ahead and do the Friday Five:

1. Is your hair naturally curly, wavy, or straight? Long or short?

I have very long, straight hair that is a neat color of light brown. It sounds pretty boring, but I like it.

2. How has your hair changed over your lifetime?

I had the half-a-head-of-bangs until the second grade, when I decided to go all-one-length. There it stayed, butt-length and scraggly until the 7th grade where I cut bangs and made them *this* high. I didn�t fix my hair one day, BAM! all-one-length hair was in, and I was the poster child. In the 12th grade I regrettably cut my hair shoulder-length and looked like a Cabbage Patch Kid with my big cheeks. Then the hair grew and grew and grew. I cut 18 inches off in 05/2000 and donated it to Locks of Love. I looked bad with short hair, but I didn�t really care. I�ve been growing it since then, and I�m a few months away from another hair donation. My friend Nicolle says that I have �pretty mermaid hair�. Hopefully someone else will enjoy it. I know that I do!

3. How do your normally wear your hair?

I brush it and then forget about it. There�s no blow-drying, no styling, no curling, no nothing. I�ve been blessed with very straight, very manageable hair that requires no work whatsoever. If I�m doing something that requires it to be out of the way, I wrap it in a bun with these �ber rubber bands and tie a white ribbon to around it to hold everything in. It�s a deceptively small bun for the amount of hair I have.

4. If you could change your hair this minute, what would it look like?

I want an unnatural color just once, but I don�t want to dye my hair. I�ve never dyed it and don�t want to mess with trying to get it back to my real color when I was finished with my fun. I�d consider temporary hair dye, so perhaps I�ll give it a try. Does anyone know if this causes any damage?

5. Ever had a hair disaster? What happened?

When I once got a trim I told the lady that I liked the front a little shorter than the back. She ended up feathering my hair up to my chin -- NOT what I asked for!!! (Mind you, were this 1980 I would have been cool� But this was 1997!!) I went back the next day and asked if she�d cut it all off because I hated it so much. She begged me to give it a few weeks before taking such drastic measures. The few weeks did no good but I remembered the Cabbage Patch look and ignored my hair until it grew out. Unfortunately the feathering was so drastic that the shortest of my hair would not fit into even a ponytail.


I have an extra-special entry planned for tomorrow. Keep your eyes out! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com