CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Skinny the Bum Gets Fed

2003-08-20� � 4:48 p.m.
After several weeks of absence and a bit of worrying on my part, I saw the skinny bum again. I was so happy to see him that I could have hugged him. a

But since I�m not too keen on getting street person smell on me, I gave him a big smile. He asked if I had any change for some food, and I said that I was on my way to the grocery store. If he was going to stick around, I�d pick him up some stuff.

I asked what kind of fruit he liked, and he said he liked watermelon. If I could get him a slice of watermelon, he�d be really happy.

I went to the store and found the watermelon as I did my regular shopping. I ended up getting him a nice bag of a full meal with hopes to help him fill out a little. I bought four slices of ham, two slices of cheese (I know I�m vegan and against animal usage, but this is easier than giving him a can of peanut butter and him schlepping it around the city), four slices from my loaf of wheat bread, a lunch-size bag of potato chips, and a small bunch of grapes.

When I saw him again, I said, �Guess what! They had watermelon!�

He was really excited, and I wished him a good night as I handed him the full bag and walked back home with my grocery bags in-hand.

I didn�t want to see his face when he saw there was more than just a slice of watermelon, but he called out to me as I walked away, �God bless you, sister.�


Survey plugs:

Chandler-b had a scrotum injury that required a trip to the hospital.

Pastagirl has got a thing for Robert Downey Jr., and she can�t figure out what superpower she�d want. Maybe x-ray vision to look through RDJ�s britches and some mind power to get him to lay off los drugas so we can continue to see his pretty mug on the tube?

Roguishdevil agrees with me that Brad Pitt�s latest scruffy look does nothing for his sex appeal.

Wherwhenwhy would change his name to Rob or Bob to be more like everyone else.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com