CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Friends, Feline, and Folks

2003-08-19� � 11:45 a.m.
Since Friday I�ve had two friends from Texas in my apartment, taking in a bit of the big city before returning to work and school next week. They got to see several museums (taking advantage of free admission days both today and yesterday), eat real Chicago pizza, attend a street festival, rollerblade along the lakefront, and see a Cubs game -- big foam finger and all!

Let�s not forget that they also viewed me in one of my finer hours at the bar with the shot-yielding midget. Yeah, I can�t wait for the peeps in Texas to hear about that...

However it goes, I�m pretty sure I can always say that I caught them practicing the art of baby-making on my couch.

Yeah, yeah. At least the couch is getting some action. The closest it�s seen is me watching Sex in the City and eating rice cream while naked.


Today I�m scratched to hell. One sweet kitty-kitty was repeatedly cursed at in the early evening hours yesterday after he landed a swat of claws across my face.

Granted, I had already carried him an eighth of a mile.

To the vet.

With evil, evil dogs in the lobby.

Where he got three shots.

And I was carrying him for another eighth of a mile home when he flipped the fuck out.

I have scratches on my wrist, forearm, upper arm, shoulder, breast, stomach, and a few long ones across the face. I can handle all of those, but you know the spot that I call the nip? That spot above your lip that hurts like all bloody fucking hell when you get a zit there? The spot that brings tears to your eyes as you try to get some relief by popping said zit? Well, he broke my nip�s skin.

It resulted in more cursing than I�ve heard since my ex-college roommate found her boyfriend sleeping with the girl two doors down. So much to the point that a homeless guy commented on my dirty mouth. When I looked at him with tears of pain in my eyes and Hambone pulled to my chest in a �don�t fuck with me cat or I�m gonna put you in a plastic bag� grip, he said, �Damn cat got you in your nip!� before he walk along his merry way.

Damn cat. If I didn�t love him so much, I�d churn him into some sausage.


Remember that I�m heading to Texas next week. Updates will likely be sporadic, but I�ll try to dial in and give you some Lone Star scoop each day. Once I get to Austin with its wonderful wireless connections all around, I�m likely to be fine. But I�m betting I won�t find such a luxury in Huffman.

Yeah. Follow that link. I suggest clicking Hotels, Restaurants, and Entertainment for a good idea of what Huffman has to offer. As far as restaurants go, note that Gabrielli�s is listed twice and that Charlie�s Place has gone out of business. I somehow doubt that Dairy Queen has anything non-dairy.

Ahhh. At least Star Caf� is actually good.

Happy Tuesday y'all!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com