CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Something Doesn�t Smell Right

2003-11-07� � 1:19 p.m.
I don�t know how many of you have worked as a contract employee before, but there is definitely something fishy going on here. I�ve been doing this too long and have been laid off too many times to know when something�s going down.

First are the big-wig meetings. They -- the people you only know through an org chart -- sit behind closed doors for about two days. Their MS Outlook calendars don�t have anything notable in the Subj: line, merely stating that they�re unavailable for four hours per day. The occasionally call in a high-up direct report, such as, well, say, my third-line manager.

Then comes the increased number of phone calls. You start noticing that the lower-level bosses have their IM statuses set to �Away -- On the phone� at the same time. You notice that this happens more regularly over a few day period. The third-line involved in the big-wig meeting may indeed just happen to be on the phone at the same time as your direct report to two entirely different unrelated parties.

And then this morning I experienced the final step: Documentation. My direct report sent an email to me a CW2 bawling us out about job priority, cc�ing it to a similarly leveled boss. Then another email arrived about work hours, stating that the �Core Business Hours� are from blah-to-blah, despite this being completely new news and us coming in 15 minutes after that time each and every day for the past several months. Both were cheek-flustering, and there�s no appropriate response to either email besides filing it into the �Information� folder in my inbox.

Perhaps it�s an overactive imagination, but I prefer to keep my eyes peeled, my ears open, and my blood pressure up.

But really -- just once I�d like to have a job where I don�t keep looking over my shoulders.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com