CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Five Shirts in One Day

2005-04-06� � 8:40 p.m.
Yesterday I changed shirts five times. That�s what kind of day it was.

That morning I woke up a little on the blue side, what with the time change still messing with me and my muscles all sore from the running and volleyball on Sunday.

The best cure I�ve found for feeling frumpy is to dress as un-frumpy as possible. So yesterday�s outfit was a knit cream-colored top with a fancy collar, a knee-length brown skirt, proper hosiery, my brown heels, and full makeup. I kid you not, it�s one of those outfits where people on the street make comments about how nice I look on the day I�m wearing it.

As far as shirt #1 goes, everything started off just fine. At about 2 I ran home for a quick lunch. My fancy noodles, vegan meatballs, and tomato sauce was good, but it apparently wanted to find a resting place on my shirt. Shirt #1 found itself sprayed with stain remover and thrown into the hamper.

As I slipped the second cream-colored shirt over my head, I saw that a bunch of my makeup smeared all over the collar. Shirt #2 had the shortest stay on my back of all five shirts.

A plain, cream-colored cotton shirt was about all I had left, so I carefully changed into shirt #3 without issue.

I finished the rest of my day out, and shirt #3 completely gave up. I didn�t think my underarms were in overdrive, but apparently they were. Shirt #3 was completely soaked, so I went home to change before my makeover class.

How many cream colored shirts do I have? Well, I have three decent ones and one button-up with this funky mesh material underneath the arms. I don�t like it, but it was be sweaty, be dirty, or wear the shirt with mesh.

The mesh it was, and shirt #4 was put on.

I went to a makeover class where I learned how to contour my face with a slightly darker powder and listened to a bunch of princesses ask questions. I left early and headed home.

My friend Happy joined me for dinner at my place, and I got out of the ugly mesh shirt as soon as I could. My Shamrock Shuffle shirt became shirt #5 and was promptly thrown on with a pair of jeans

Shirt #5 made it through grilling dinner.

It made it through tossing together a salad.

It made it through serving and eating the meal.

However, it didn�t make it through the bottle of wine we drank.

I of course didn�t notice this until Happy had left and I called Benito to drunkenly say hello.

Five shirts were enough for me, so I tossed in on the floor, turned off the light, and laid my heavy head on the pillow. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com