CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Crap for this Week

2005-06-09� � 6:05 p.m.
Martini Monday with the girls went nicely. I got a strange look when I requested the usual sugar-rimmed grapefruit juice martini but without the vodka, but all was good. We shared appetizers and then went back to my friend Bunny�s house because another girlfriend moved and left a bunch of small clothes for the taking.

I scored some lacy boxers, a shirt, and a jean skirt. The jean skirt is actually pretty funny since it looks so impossibly short. However, once I put it on and made a face that screamed, �You�ve got to be kidding me?!� Bunny grabbed the bottom of its hem and yanked downward. The girls ooh-ed and ahh-ed over my svelte figure (read: my hip bones poke out a lot), and I sported that Juicy Couture skirt like I was the one who shelled out the $120 for it.

After departure time, that little skirt and I strutted to the el. As I entered the turnstile, I could hear the train�s approaching roar and burst into a run. When one�s little jean skirt rests snugly on one�s hips instead of the usual lower belly, one tends to forget that the hip is indeed a joint that will push the skirt up-up-up until it�s up to one�s boobs.

I�m just glad I didn�t lose $120 on this lesson.

Tuesday was the first day of my marathon training club. I held off on my usual immediately-after-work run until the club was to meet at 6. I sat by the rusty baboon at Daley Plaza, waiting for anyone in running clothes to stop by. When the bells rang 6 p.m. and no one was yet there, I counted 100 breaths and then took off on my own. I did a great 4-mile run by myself, adding an extra mile to what the schedule said to do.

So, there, running club. Eat it.

After my run, I met up with my friend Happy for dinner. I made a huge salad with some vinegar dressing and mixed up some tuna salad for her. She�s concerned with my weight, so she stopped at Walgreen�s for some ice cream sandwiches.

I know that I don�t generally eat dairy. But if I am going to, it�s going to be an ice cream sandwich. So, yeah. Her plan to make me eat more worked, and I had a frosty, yummy, milk-based treat. She was proud, even if it was hardly a dent in the nutritional pyramid.

Last night (damn, this is quickly becoming a �What I Did this Summer� essay) I skipped run club since none of the ninnies were likely coming anyway (and I had already done an extra workout that Monday), and I went to my real estate class.

Really, y�all. This class is going to be painful.

The teacher has an odd inflection to his voice, causing him to suddenly break into a continued shout. I seriously had my left hand crossed over my body to cover my right ear as I took notes with my right hand for the duration of the class.

Most of the people in the class were foreign. I suppose so long as you can complete the course and pass the test, the good ol� US of A stamps you a-okay for entry and rewards you for your 6 weeks of effort with a work visa. There�s no telling, but that�s just the impression that I got. (Way to go! Better yourselves! But really, work on your English so you can actually support yourself in some capacity in this field...)

I sat at the cool kid table, and the girl next to me and I completely hit it off. She offered me a ride home, and I asked her out on an impromptu date with my other girlfriends. Happy, Happy�s Sister, Bunny, New Girl, and I had a beer and much girlie laughter. This weekend we�re going out again. [blush]

I ended the night way too late, but again woke up super early.

I�ve had some seriously horked up dreams lately where I�m in uncomfortable situations and have to find my way out of them. After trying one solution and failing, I stay asleep and have to try solution after solution until I get it right. This morning I forced myself awake since the dream involved dead bodies with shrunken heads and my ex-cat Ming.

See, seriously horked up.

In other news, I immediately made my day better by purchasing a way-overpriced Lollapalooza concert ticket. Since near my house, I might as well partake. I haven�t heard from Dinosaur Jr. in years, so I�m looking forward to that. La la la. My girls are coming too, so it should be a ridiculously fun weekend.

Hmmm... What else?

Oh yeah. I�ve updated my 101 Things I Want to Do in the Next 1001 Days list. Expect to see me say that more often since I�m working on knocking that list out as much as possible this summer.

All right. It�s time to run a few miles. Have a great night, all. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com