CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Signs of Getting Older

2006-10-09� � 4:16 p.m.
You order top-shelf alcohol because you have the extra $2 per drink.

$10 extra to avoid the hangover and to not have your drink taste like moonshine is well worth it.

You have dinner on a Friday night with friends, and isn�t followed up with anything because you�re all ready for bed.

We�re definitely not staying out until 4 a.m. anymore. With midnight being the latest, we usually bugger out early, citing that we need to go to the gym the early the next day, go grocery shopping before the crowds, or don�t want to be late for brunch.

You enter a bar and promptly leave when you see that the other patrons are dancing on the bar and doing shots.

I left two bars this weekend. The first was crawling with college kids on the prowl. The second was quieter. But when the bartender�s friends came in and started talking about what hotties they were scoping out, we had to bail.

The evening was spent at a Mexican restaurant with appetizers and margaritas with top-shelf tequila (of course), and I was on the train before midnight.

You enjoy seeing cover bands or going to piano bars.

Yes, it�s true. When you see a band or go to a bar so you know all of the words, you�re officially getting older.

I think of my dad and how he resists change, and I�m slowly making my way there. I don�t want to discover new music! I already know plenty, and I already know that I like it.

Oh, but I should try something new! Branch out and experience it!

Don�t push it. I tried sushi three years ago, and that�s quite enough change for me for a while.

Your friends are getting remarried.

My friends have had not only time to get married and reproduce, they�ve also found time to get married, reproduce, get divorced, and then get married to someone else.

This baffles the hell out of me, as I�ve yet to find someone I want to spend more than a few hours with lately.

You go to a concert and think, �Gee, this is a serious fire hazard.�

Two seasons back I got floor seats for me and a friend to see a concert. When the main show took the stage, people left their seats and started dancing in the aisles. I kid you not, the thought of fire hazards did cross my mind.

When did I become such a fuddy-duddy?

You watch Nick at Nite, and the shows being played are ones from your childhood.

Back when my family first got cable, we watched shows from when my parents grew up: Mister Ed, My Three Sons, Lassie. This was understood. After all, my parents were certainly *old* when I was 8.

*GULP*

My parents were a whopping 30 years old back then.

Father Knows Best gave way to the Mary Tyler Moore Show, which gave way to The Cosby Show, which now has The Fresh Prince of Bellaire playing.

I can sing all of the words to that intro song. I used to giggle about Jazz being tossed from the house. I always loved Hillary�s super-hip clothes and hair.

Why oh why oh why is this on Nick at Nite?!

Your first dates are now at wine bars instead of a couple beers at the local hangout.

Keep your fingers crossed tomorrow night. I think I landed one who isn�t a dud.

Enjoy your Monday night. It�s certainly gotta be better than your Monday day! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com