CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Uke Class #2 and How Netflix Got Me Thinking...

2006-03-07� � 11:45 a.m.
Last night was ukulele class #2. It�s kinda disappointing. I was hoping to be hideously bad at this. Alas, it�s once again something that I�m picking up quite easily.

Sometimes it�s so hard being the talented one. And the pretty one. And the funny one. And the smart one.

I kid, I kid. However, it�s odd how I have no experience in stringed instruments whatsoever, and I�m plucking along just fine. Of course I only know three notes at this time. I shouldn�t be so smug. There are still six more weeks to see how it continues to go.

However, I�m totally rocking the song about a hula girl from Waikiki. And I can now even tell you what the Hawaiian words in the middle of the song�s verses mean.

Aside from class, I spent the night with Netlflix. I quickly abandoned the DVD on the Dalai Lama. I find his enthusiasm and laughter infectious, but this DVD was too serious for me. I did get two interesting points from the thirty minutes I spent reading subtitles, but that wasn�t enough for me to keep reading/watching.

I followed up that with Murderball. Holy crap was that interesting. I kept the DVD for another day so I could finish watching the Special Features section. I never watch the special features, so you know this is amusing.

The quick summary: Quadriplegic men play wheelchair rugby.

I often wondered how I�d handle things if my world got turned upside down. Being someone who prides herself in being in control and not needing others, suddenly being confined to a wheelchair and without full use of my arms would be an absolute nightmare.

However, after watching this movie, it shows that not all quadriplegics are like Christopher Reeve -- what I�m sure many of us think of when we think of quadriplegics. Merely having impaired mobility in all four limbs (extreme in some cases, less extreme in others) qualifies you as a quadriplegic.

There seems to be a few rough-and-rumble athletic activities available to people with disabilities, and they really are no-holds-barred and provide a true competitive outlet. I don�t think that would really give me the push I�d need to be happy in the immediate months after such an accident, but it would be a nice distraction and a way to meet others who have been through something similar after my initial shock wore off.

I guess you take what you get and learn to make the best of it. I�m highly resilient and adaptable to my situations, so maybe I would get along just fine in a wheelchair. There�s no telling, but for now I�ll make full use of my legs.

Tonight is the women�s running group I met last week. I hope to do whatever the longest mileage is that they run. I could really use something to really shake the dust off.

Happy trails to you... Until tomorrow.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com