CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

ChicagoJo Gets Some Superman for Halloween

2003-11-02� � 10:05 p.m.
So, Halloween. It was a good one. It wasn�t like last year where I found an empty bar station, pretended I was the bartender, and started mixing everyone free drinks... But it was still a good one.

Let me give some quick background info: The night before I suffered a bout of insomnia, not getting to sleep until around 4 a.m. And wouldn�t you know that two cats decided to start fighting at 6?! Although I tossed them out the bedroom, they continued to fight, those rotten fucking flea-bags. Needles to say, I was a sleepy Jo while at work, while shopping for a beer t-shirt to pull off my costume as a boozehound, and while getting ready to go out. I realize that I�m getting ahead of myself now, but let�s keep in mind that I�m tired-tired-tired.

Lorinda avoided the holiday entirely for fear of facepaint, and Brian went out of town to watch some football game. This left Happy dressed up as Tinkerbelle, pulling her pirate boyfriend in-tow, LE wearing an improv costume as the white trash prom queen (ball gown, pregnant stuffing, a sash, green eye shadow, and big hair), and me with my back-up costume, wearing the same thing as last year: a see-thru black shirt, a zebra-print mini, a zebra-print floppy hat, and knee-high boots.

The four of us headed into Wrigleyville, Happy and her pirate heading to a party, and LE and I to some random bar.

We grabbed a couple beers, chatting with random strangers, having a good time, etc., etc., etc. when Clark Kent approaches me. Complete with nerd glasses, an unbuttoned shirt reveling his Superman logo, and an unkempt tie -- I about ate him up right then and there. As if the nerd glasses weren�t enough to get my motor running, being able to pull him around by his tie was oh-so-appealing.

Clark, his friends from Top Gun and Stewardess Barbie, LE, and I danced the night away. At closing time we had to go meet Happy and her pirate, so we bid adieu to our dancing partners.

And for the record, yes, there was a phone number given out. Thankyouverymuch.

On a funny note, LE got lots of comments early in the night on how cool her costume was. At the end of the night *cough*when everyone was looking to go home and fuck*cough* my costume was the one with the comments.

Alas, we cabbed it back to Brian�s place (sans the Brian) and crashed. With him gone, I claimed the bed. Ahh -- So very nice.

Remember the part of the story where I said I was tired??? Well, I slept some wonderful, fantastic, drool-all-over-Brian�s-pillows sleep until 2 p.m. the next day. I woke up laughing, got ribbed a bit from my friends, and then headed home.

And what did I do once I got home? Yes, I went back to sleep. I woke up for a little while around 4 a.m., where I ate some toast and was back to bed by 5. I finally got up this morning at 10, refreshed and ready to conquer the world. After more than 25 hours of sleep interrupted only by transportation or eating something quickly, I felt fantastic.

This wonderful feeling left me feeling so great that I spent my day indoors with the kitties (still fighting, the bastards) and a few DVDs.

Clark Kent gave me a call in the mid-afternoon. Apparently I�m as witty on the phone as I am in electronic media, �cause we have an official date later in the week. An official date indeed -- Go me! Let�s hope he wears those glasses -- Hubba hubba...


Go read about autumn-kitty�s Halloween. It�s the funniest damn thing I�ve ever read. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com