CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Hades has Opened and I've Got a Lot to Do

2003-08-21� � 5:02 p.m.
All right Texas. I know I sent a joking email yesterday about how �Very Hot!� it was in Chicago. (That�s what Weather Bug told me yesterday morning.) But really. Lemme tell ya. Right now the heat index is 24 degrees warmer here than it is there.

24 DEGREES!

I realize that the rain there isn�t giving typical Texas weather, but man-oh-man is it feeling like Texas here in Chi-town. Geez Louise, it�s even as humid as Houston thanks to this big ol� waterin� hole on the side of my town.

The walk home tonight won�t be pleasant, as I�m sure tonight Ranger�s game won�t be either...

That�s right -- My favorite baseball team is in town. I have to make sure I get home and get all of my crap done so I can head on out there by start time. None of my friends are interested in going (or the ones who are aren�t in town today), so I�ll be heading out there by myself.

Cirque du Soleil wasn�t bad by myself, but there�s something about wearing a jersey for the opposing team and waving a sign while sitting alone that says something along the lines of, �That girl doesn�t shower,� �She�s a bonafide nut bag if she traveled 1300 miles to see her team lose,� or �No one wants to be friends with someone who�s different.�

Le sigh.

I will go to the game anyway and have a good time in my cheap seats. At least the ballpark has vegetarian hot dogs. Yay for veggie hot dogs!

Yesterday I got new bed sheets in the mail. I ordered a sateen set from MSN�s clearance section a few nights ago. 300 thread count. Rose-colored. Oh-so-soft. Oh-so-nice. I sure do like it.

No more stars and stripes sheets! No more blue designs on the walls!

With my bed�s transformation into adulthood, I�ve decided to give my entire bedroom an overhaul. The previous painting I did will be painted over with eggshell primer. The crown molding will be painted a virgin white. And then, all walls facing north or south will be painted khaki. I have a lovely cream-colored curtain hanging in there that will offset that nicely.

Or maybe I should just scrap it all, buy a heart-shaped bed, get SATIN sheets, arrange 27 different mini-pillows, and hang up a disco ball for my love nest.

Nah. Chances are that I still wouldn�t choose to get any.

All right. Lots to do, and I�m still at work. I must-must-must finish this stuff up so I can tackle my list of things to do around the house before the Rangers start at 7:05.

Woo! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com