CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Kicking Hambone Out of Bed

2003-06-05� � 6:10 p.m.
Today was the first time in a long time that I�ve has to kick Hambone out of the bed.

Previously there were times when he�d scratch my sleeping head in an attempt to wake his play buddy up. Admittedly, he�d occasionally swat for more food. I�m not a perfect kitty mama; but in my defense, he also used the claws to express his jealousy of my boyfriend whose head was in the favorite kitty resting spot. There was also the time that I took in a substitute kitten for the night and didn�t want either to freak out. I trusted Ham not to tear up my furniture, so I kept the kitten in my room instead. Oh the abuse! [rolling eyes]

However, this morning was different. Perhaps my mucous-y head had something to do with it (I�m now cutting out dairy and popping Sudafed like they�re Pez), but I really think that it was the unnecessary clawing to my scalp that preempted his tossing.

When Ham claws, I pay attention.

After I received my wake-up whack on the noggin, I rolled over and eyed his food bowl. Check!

I surveyed the level in his water bowl. Check!

Assuming that there might be a varmint or some other lively treat waiting for me outside the bedroom, I rose from bed and followed Ham out the room.

There he sat on his hind half and nonchalantly licked his paw. The damn cat was toying with me, so I went back to bed.

Moments later I caught another claw to the head. Something surely must be going on, right?

I once again followed him into the livingroom where he looked at me and grinned. I swear I heard cackling kitty laughter as I headed back under my goose down comforter.

He once again swatted me, so I pushed him away by his kitty head.

Lather, rinse, repeat. He was damn determined to get me up.

No siree. Not gonna happen. I picked him up and chucked him outside the bedroom, closing the door behind me as I got back to my restful slumber.

So here I am, wide awake and wanting a kitty snuggle. Hambone is sleeping a mere few inches away, mocking me with his sweet kitty snores.

You can bet your ass that I�m waking him up. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com