CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

A Case of the Mondays

2007-04-09� � 4:11 p.m.
As said so well by Peter Gibbons in Office Space:

The thing is, Bob, it's not that I'm lazy. It's that I just don't care.

I think that sums things up really well.

As far as working goes, I�ve got it pretty good. I have a bunch of bosses, but they�re all reasonable, competent people. Everyone works really well together, and they try like heck to give everyone opportunities to move up and along.

The problem is with me. I�m very aware of this. It�s just that I cannot for the life of me seem to give two craps about anything that�s going on.

Status reports? You know what I�ve done all week because I send you an email before I leave each day so my Indian counterpart knows what there is to work on overnight.

Tracking the actual time spent on projects? Who the fuck cares? I cannot bring myself to get all hyped up about better estimating models.

Quality Management Plans? Configuration Management Plans? Desk Check Procedures? Team Charters?

I. Just. Don�t. Care.

And even when it comes to social events, such as tonight�s bowling party for Chicago�s Junior Achievement program, I can�t even muster fake enthusiasm for two hours of hanging out with coworkers and eating free pizza. I�d rather just raise the money for a good cause and be done with it.

I like my coworkers. I really, really do. The one to my left is amazing and has become one of my better friends. He-boss is the best boss anyone could ask for, telling me straight-up how to play the game. She-boss is brilliant and witty, and she has the most magnificent and admirable way of handling people from all levels in the company. Even when one of the other bosses is being a complete ding-dong, you have to admire something about him or her. These really are great people.

But every time I fill out a status report (always a day late because I just can�t stomach it on a Friday afternoon), a little bit of me dies on the inside.

I just can�t do it anymore.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com