CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Clark Kent is Not My Superman, I�m Almost Official, and Someone Wants My Money

2003-11-04� � 4:46 p.m.
So I went out with Clark Kent last night. I thought he was supposed to call sometime after 7:30, but what he actually said was that we should do something after 7:30.

I figured I should get this whole date thing over with as quickly as possible, so last night it was. I picked myself off the couch and made myself presentable in about three minutes. He met me with flowers in-hand, and we went to catch �Texas Chainsaw Massacre� to extend the scary Halloween theme.

We got there about two hours early, so we walked over to some Waffle House, got a coupla shortstacks, and chatted for a while.

We watched our movie and headed home shortly afterwards.

There was continuous conversation during non-movie times, so there was nothing wrong there.

Although he didn�t wear the Clark Kent glasses, there wasn�t anything unattractive about him.

He didn�t bite his nails, crack his knuckles, chew with his mouth open, or have any other disgusting habit, so it wasn�t that either.

But there was nothing there. Just another case of a NGNW and there being something that just didn�t click on my side. Since I�ve recently mended my ways of just not returning calls, I�ll have to tell the guy that I just don�t feel anything and see how it goes.

[sigh] Damn my amended ways and trying to be a better person. I can�t remember the last time that I gave a �there�s nothing wrong with you, but I don�t like you like that anyway� conversation, but I recall not liking it.


Yesterday on my way out the building, the apartment manager stopped to let me know something went awry with my lease renewal. With all of the help coming in and out of the office, there�s no surprise that something went screwy. Who knows what went on, but the main management office seems to think that my place is now empty.

So today I have to fix things up, and the apartment will officially be mine -- no more subleasing for me! It�s an odd feeling to be the actual leaser, especially since I�ve been here for nine months now...

I made some comment to him that I didn�t want to lose my free month that brings my monthly rent down significantly, and he said that I�ll probably get an even better deal by signing on brand new. You bet your ass I�m gonna put down my neighbors as referrers to split that nifty $500 referral fee.


Not only will I have an apartment in my name in this city and a rent rate that went down, but my college started sending me alumni information, obviously thinking that I�ll make a donation to them now that I�m living the big life in the city.

I just RSVPed saying that I would attend a reception in three Thursdays where I�ll get free wine and snacks and will get to hob-nob it with the president on my home turf. Thankfully they chose a location two blocks away from work, so getting there is no problem.

Who knows...

Maybe I�ll find a smidgen of school pride that I never had while attending classes there.

Maybe I�ll meet some younger, cool people who now live in Chicago.

Maybe my NGNW streak will break, and I�ll find myself that winter boyfriend I keep thinking about.

Maybe -- just maybe -- I�ll write them a little check in appreciation for the wine and crackers.

Somehow I�m betting that all of these are just crack-dreams and it�ll be a bunch of old, fat, rich men who sent their kids there for a good Catholic education with the lax admission requirements and decent price tag.

I�ll report back in three Thursdays, but now I have to get outta here to go sign my lease. Happy Tuesday everybody.


Remember, if you want a ChicagoJo Xmas card, you have to email me your address. The family pictures are on their way!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com