CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Mister Rogers Leaves the Neighborhood

2003-02-27� � 1:49 p.m.
I read the saddest news ever today.


It�s such a good feeling / To know you�re alive.


1968-2000: 32 years of television excellence. Think about it for a minute. The show had been on for over ten years before I was born. Generations share this man. Not only did I grow up on him, but so did my thirty-something friends and the kids in the preschool gym classes I taught. And how many of my friends� children also watched, absorbed with the land of make believe, speedy deliveries, and trips into the neighborhood?


He�s an icon for all. A sweater-wearing, soft-spoken icon who knows exactly how to make his neighbor feel special. He should be required watching for depressed teenagers, struggling parents, those in need. He�s Prozac for the masses. Where else will you get such consistency, always knowing what to expect, and having a sweater color be the only surprise?


He comes in, singing and smiling, focused on ME, his favorite neighbor, and goes to his sweater closet.

Blue, blue, blue, blue, blue.

Red. But I�m not that disappointed.

The next day he comes in, singing and smiling, focused on ME, his favorite neighbor, and goes to his sweater closet.

Blue, blue, blue, blue, blue.

Green. But I�m not that disappointed.

The next day he comes in, singing and smiling, focused on ME, his favorite neighbor, and goes to his sweater closet.

Blue, blue, blue, blue, blue.

BLUE! REJOICE! It *is* a snappy new day!


It�s such a happy feeling / You�re growing inside


Who hasn�t tossed his or her shoe like Mister Rogers? I practiced in my livingroom, tossing my shoe to the ceiling, trying to catch it with my left hand. There were times that I took a sparkly pink jelly to the head, but I know my hard work would pay off so I could perform the routine with him.

I might have dreamt it, but I swear there was an episode on how to safely toss one�s shoe. Wherever I picked the words of caution up from, I heeded that advise. No more tossing jellies -- Flip-flops were safer.


There was an episode where he taught how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. You put peanut butter in a glass, add jelly, stir it together (get help from an adult!), and *then* spread it on the bread. I know what I�m having for lunch today.


There�s something about writing out Mister. There�s no abbreviating it. It�s Mister, not Mr.


I don�t believe in heaven, but this may have changed my mind.


And when you wake up, ready to say / I think I�ll make a snappy new day / *snap*snap*


Sesame Street was bullshit. Number and letters, I already knew. How to cross the street safely, how to keep fish alive, and how to make others smile are more important lessons.


In journalism class we were asked to list the news events that we remembered.

The Challenger falling from the sky: first grade on TV, the smoke looks like an ostrich.

The start of the Gulf War: my dad told me when I was leaving a Girl Scout meeting.

When CNN became my morphine two Septembers ago, I thought of this assignment as I sat in the doctor�s office waiting to have my carpal tunnel problems checked out.

The death of Mister Rogers has now been added.


It�s such a good feeling / A very good feeling.


There was once an episode that showed how crayons were made. Us neighbors watched through the painting on the wall.

That was a painting on the wall, right?


During one of my unemployed stints over a year ago, I stumbled across Mister Rogers on daytime TV, Although an adult, I did not dare call him Fred.

Mister Rogers became a daily routine. Matt and I talked about recording his shows, saying that it would be a shame if it ever went off the air. There had better be some DVDs.


I think Mister Rogers is the reason I like Martha Stewart: The quiet voice teaches me cool things.


That I�ll be back, when the day is though / And I�ll have more ideas for you.


He was a children�s television pioneer. Repetition = comfort. Blues Clues repeats the same episode so the viewers can solve the mysteries. Tell me that self-esteem boost isn�t a result of Mister Rogers� results.


Did I mention how much Sesame Street blows?

Mister Rogers would never say �blows�.


I became an ordained minister thought the Universal Life Church, and the first thing I said was, �I�m now like Mister Rogers!�

Only he didn�t get a certificate in the mail or sign up over the Internet...


You�ll have things you�ll want to talk about / I will too


I saved this picture a long time ago. It makes me smile.


I have never cried at the news of a celebrity�s passing. Not a single death even comes to mind as one that got more than mere moments of my time toward them.

Princess Diana got a, �Huh, no way.�

Mother Teresa got a few minutes of, �She seemed like a really nice woman.�

JFK Jr. got a, �JFK had a son?�

I scanned the MSN tribute comics to gain an understanding of how people loved George Harrison, wishing that I had any idea of how this man could be someone that so many felt a strong connection with.

I now understand.


Yes, it is a good feeling to know you�re alive.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com