CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Go Hug a Hammus

2004-10-13� � 4:46 p.m.
The past couple of days have dragged by at work. But instead of finding something cool to write about to pass the time, I�ve been looking at stuff online.

I�ve decided to go with the unlimited DVD rental stuff where they send you discs in the mail and you return them for free. I have a free couple nights per week, so it would be fun to do some movie watching since I�ve watched approximately twelve movies in my entire life.

Yes, I exaggerate... But it�s really not too far off. I watch Election, Ocean�s 11, Bridget Jones� Diary, and Amelie about twice a month each. Maybe throw in a little DVD action of Alton Brown�s Good Eats or some Sex and the City, and that�s really about it.

I went through two ratings sites and made a four-column list of movies to add to my queue once I make the final move to commit to the movie-sending site. FOUR PAGES of movies in the top 250 lists of other site that I had never seen!!

It�s crazy!

Then again, I wonder how much this will cut into my reading time. I could just pony up the forty or so bones to clear off the fines on my library account and spend my time furthering my mind instead.

Ha ha ha ha ha -- Rot away, brain!

Last night I attended the book reading/signing for James Ellroy. He�s quite a character (read: jag-off), and I�m always entertained by him.

What also amused me last night was how many people there were English-major types. Just a few days ago I mentioned how these people �just read a bunch of books and talked about antidisestablishmentarianism and iambic pentameter in an attempt to sound smart,� and I have confirmation that I�m right-on with that remark.

In XYZ book your sentence structure became much more abbreviated. Has rage affected your writing style?

Somebody gag me.

I�ll take my happy little English Writing and Rhetoric degree from my small liberal arts college and not think about it until I have to dust the frame off with my static-cling duster. That�s the extent of that!

Last night Hambone was acting weird. He crawled into the tub to poop (yes, he�ll pee in the toilet, but pooping in it doesn�t happen), but he had nothing to show for it. He walked around kinda scrunched over for a bit, and he made some sad meow noises. Apparently the small amount of cheese he stole as I picked it off my ready-to-go from-the-drugstore salad upset his belly.

My poor baby was so uncomfortable, and there really wasn�t anything I could do for him. I kept my eye on him for another 30 minutes, and I finally went to bed when he was again swatting his mousey toy all over the condo.

It was such a relief that I didn�t mind that he played for much of the night. As long as he�s a healthy Hambone, he�s got some leeway for a while.

Tonight I was thinking that I�d hit up a movie, but I think I�ll instead grill some dinner, read more from The Age of Innocence, and pet my cat.

G�nite all.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com