CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Nothing of Too Much Excitement

2003-08-04� � 3:19 p.m.
I had a pretty tame weekend, hanging out with friends and doing the usual. The remnants of this weekend�s title of �Nothing of Too Much Excitement� has followed me into this entire Monday, keeping me from being all too excited about my work.

Glorified proofreader, remember?

Here�s an actual line from my current document:

Complete the Communication and Involvement Map by filling the boxes with colors or shades of gray, representing different levels of awareness, understanding, buy-in, and ownership for every group.

Me-oh-my! So much fun! Woo!

So in an effort to help entertain me, I wrote a survey for you to fill out.

Remember, only Diaryland Gold Members can create surveys, so get your gold membership today! It�s cheap, and it makes diarylanding even more fun. Andrew depends on such sponsorship to keep the site running, so pitch in a few bucks today. I�ve already upgraded my own account, bought 5000 more banner ads, and upgraded Ms. Autumn-Kitty�s account to a gold membership too! Yeah, it�s what all of the cool kids are doing...


On Friday night I came home and took a nap, completely missing $10 all-you-can-drink at Kendall�s. I woke up, got pretty, and headed up there to meet Lorinda and Brian, only to find Brian absorbed in the rain delayed Cubs game that was finally taking place and Lorinda in a non-drinking mood.

Luckily Lorinda and I aligned on this feeling, so we left Brian and walked her home while doing some girl talk. I mentioned my �Ten Things I Would Normally Complain About that Actually Make Me Thankful� list, and we decided that our bitching about men was quite a blessing because it meant that all of our actual needs were met.

We parted, and that thought continued and carried me into a well lighted bookstore of the corporate type. I only buy from barnesandnoble.com because of my 7% off from Discover Card, but the feel of a bookstore always slows me down and makes me wish I bought more books.

I browsed through the sale section, focusing on this book with an interesting cover and story idea. I thought about how I sometimes wish I was a journalist of this sort, going on assignment and writing exciting stories while on the company�s tab. (Once again, I�m not bitching about work. I really do like what I do...) I love retelling stories, and I�m finally feeling like I�m moving into a �voice� -- something that my overly pretentious writing professors (or at least that�s what I previously thought) always talked about.

Note to self: Perhaps it�s time to freelance for fun.

I was about to leave when �No Woman No Cry� came on. It�s one of my all-time favorite songs, so I let myself sway through the store, pausing briefly at the cookbooks, travel maps, Harry Potter display, blank books, and calendars. I wound my way around the top level, looking for Austrian Economics books and any self-help titles that made me giggle.

As the song finished and the next started, I left the store with The Reader in hand and walked to the bus stop.

My steps continued to dance with The Fugee�s words, and the last line stuck with me:

Everything's gonna be all right, everything's gonna be all right,

Yeah Shorty, everything�s gonna be all right. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com