CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Trade Show, Etc., Part One

2003-03-20� � 2:01 p.m.
You know that feeling when you�re walking downhill and you have to pick up the pace to keep from falling? Beginning physics taught me the word: inertia. When this momentum knocks me on my ass, I�ve been known to exclaim, �Inertia�s a bitch!� Well, the inertia from Saturday afternoon carried me for the rest of the weekend until Wednesday, and I�m finally catching my breath after a whirlwind of events.

Let me begin by saying that I�m the luckiest bitch ever. I repeatedly find myself in situations that require little action and result in big returns. I�ve got the gift of gab and people naturally gravitate towards me. I�m friendly and a good person. I believe that what you give out, you get in return. So far this has done me well.

So Saturday evening I run into Helga, and it�s apparent that she�s having a bad day. I talked with her awhile, gave hugs and reassurance that all will be fine, and offered to get her bloody friggin� drunk to drown her sorrows.

She immediately perks up and scurries to get dressed. I throw on a little t-shirt and a pair of jeans to celebrate the pleasant weather, and she shows up in knee-high black boots, a leather skirt, and a nice black shirt. I look like I�m ready to swig down some beer, and she�s looking like a night of $12 martinis.

We compromise on this middle-of-the-road bar. It�s packed with pre-St. Patty�s Day celebrators, and there are beer specials I can take advantage of.

After getting our drinks, Helga immediately finds a cute guy to approach, and I hang back and talk with everyone else around. There�s a large group of firemen from NYC and a handful of convention-goers here only for the week.

One friendly fellow invites me out with his group the next night. Beer and pool fits my kinda fun, he�s not openly scamming on me, and I agree to go.

So I show up on Saturday night to this pool house after some minor confusion, and they�re ready for dinner.

After good food and conversation (these guys really are GREAT), they invite me to join them at the tradeshow the next day to schmooze with everyone there and try to get a potential job.

All is agreed, and I join them the next morning, ready to talk with a bunch of strangers, learn more about all of the companies, and search for a jobby-job-job.

The first day was very casual. I met with people working the booths and pulled the psuedo-local stuff outta my butt and gave recommendations on places to go for St. Patty�s celebrations. I made it through about half of the booths that day with some good contacts and a lot of knowledge on what I need to do to prepare for the next day of job-searching.

FAST FORWARD TO THAT NIGHT



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com