CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Trade Show, Etc., Part Two

2003-03-20� � 2:03 p.m.
To read the first part of this weekend, start here.


St. Patty�s Day celebrations ensued. After dinner, we headed to Fado�s and drank like all good Irish men do. I couldn�t tell you how the Irish women drink, so I just downed a Bud Light and enjoyed the night. Fado�s was uncomfortably packed, so we went to this local bar.

Lions and tigers and bears -- Oh my! turned into Beer, shots, and temporary tattoos -- Oh my!

I got some great pictures with the guys and we had a heck of a time.

After two hours of sleep, it was back to business with the tradeshow. This time I dressed up, printed out my business cards, and was determined to get some more concrete contacts.

And that I did.

It appears that this e-commerce site will be released and needs product descriptions written. Other companies are too small to employ fulltime tech writers or a marketing team, so I can potentially be their outsourced help. I met with a telecom company (similar to my IBM Wireless project) and an LCD company. And some people need help with their brochures and websites.

Who�s the queen?!

Anyway, the tradeshow closed down and we waited for the union members to bring the crates to pack everything up.

Union members should replace �molasses� in the saying �as slow as molasses�. Considering that they�re making $30+ per hour, you�d think that they�d work hard. That is, until you remember that OT on $30+ per hour if $45+ per hour.

So one of the guys and I drove to Mc Donald�s to get dinner for everyone. When I went back inside to deliver the burgers in the bag, the three remaining guys were getting drunk off of the beer left by the booth next to theirs. I took two bottles of Aquafina and went back to the car.

Because of the slow-ass union peeps, the guys I had hung out with since Saturday had to stay another night in Chicago.

Another night, another round of partying.

The next morning they headed home. I already miss my new friends.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com