CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Getting My Workout On, the f*ed-up Headers Expert, and Plastic on the Cornea

2003-11-05� � 6:54 p.m.
Yeah, so you got a special edition of TAoCJ at about midnight last night. Obviously I wasn�t asleep anytime early, but I roused outta bed at exactly 8 a.m. this morning, and then gave myself a mental bitch slap, saying that I was working out no matter what.

It was cold in the apartment, but I put on the little workout clothes anyway.

The kitties were especially cuddly, but I didn�t stop to pet and love on them.

I was hungry, tired, groggy, and congested, but I ignored those elements and got in gear.

I walked to the stairs to start my ChicagoJo Buff-n-Tuff � portion of the workout when I smelled cigarette smoke in the stairway. If I can barely stand cig smoke while merely doing beer curls (that would be lifting 12 ounces to my mouth several times throughout the Friday or Saturday evening -- um, the workout), there was no way my asthmatic ass was gonna run up and down those stairs while breathing tainted air.

I walked back to the apartment, feeling half defeated and half relieved. But no sooner did I enter the friendly confines of my abode that the pangs of guilt turned me right back around. I may prefer to run up and down the stairs, but I know damn good and well that there�s a treadmill in the basement.

Yeah, I ran on the stupid treadmill. I did a quick warm-up walk and then started running. I thought I was going to lose a lung, so I went back to walking. Apparently I just needed to scare the sleepy head away, �cause I started running like Forrest Gump immediately afterwards: I ran and ran and ran without any problems or a care in the world, and then I stopped when the mood suited me.

So a quick question: Why must workout facilities have mirrors all over the place? I guess seeing the extra bit of padding gathering around my belly did fuel the intense extra minutes of running, but still. I really just don�t want to see that. I guess I should wear a shirt instead of just my sports bras, but whatever.

Another question: Why is it when you�re dripping with sweat and all nasty do people have to get on the elevator with you? I�d have taken the stairs if it weren�t for the cig smoke, but still. Must everyone see me at my ugliest?

And now final a question directed towards any Dorky McDorkersons out there: Why do I feel like I�m going to throw up after I work out and drink some cold water on my empty belly?

We�ll see how long I keep this running thing up. I�m really hoping to run a 5k next Spring.

Yeah, yeah, yeah. I could probably make it around the entire thing right now, but that�s not what I�m going for. I want to run -- full out RUN -- the 5k and win me a shiny belt buckle or something that�s just as snazzy.

(Although I do secretly wish for a shiny belt buckle. Not that I have a belt to put it on, but ya know...)


So the big, big boss has been in work for two days in a row (he�s generally work-from-home all but one day a week) and has his door all closed up this afternoon. As a contractor, any odd activities raise the blood pressure. However, he emailed my direct boss a question, and I was the person everything was directed to for fixes.

I just got a call from a semi-high level boss asking a similar question, saying that someone told him I was the expert of this arena. Um, sure.

Paste a phony smile on my face, slap a sticker on my ass, and call me an expert. Yeah, whatever you need to let me keep my job.


I�m still mourning the loss of my Republican glasses. However, the next time I�m in Texas or find a coupon for a really inexpensive eye exam, I�m gonna get momma some contact lenses. I�m all about the crystal clear vision, so I might as well pop some plastic against my cornea.

Yeah, like you give a flip. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com