CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Stuff

2005-01-20� � 4:59 p.m.
Things I really don�t like about winter:

-- People who smoke when they walk.

Because it�s so cold and everyone�s breath shows, it looks like everyone is smoking. Therefore, when someone is actually smoking, it�s concealed until I breathe in their fumes, cough, sputter, and then wheeze from a combination of smoke allergies and the cold air.

-- People who spit on the sidewalk.

If it�s so freaking cold outside to the point that you feel like you have frostbite from walking the three streets to get to work, people definitely shouldn�t spit on the sidewalks.

First off, it�s nasty to see someone�s snot-filled spittle on the sidewalk, despite the temperature. But after a couple hours in the freezing temperatures, your spat snot and spit becomes frozen snot and spit.

And what�s worse than seeing someone�s snot-filled spittle on the sidewalk? Slipping in someone�s snot-filled spittle that�s frozen over.

-- Seeing everyone�s breath.

It�s officially freaked me out, as I now see just how much of other people�s exhalations we breathe in daily. With the cold weather, I get a very clear picture when someone else�s fog of breath condensation nears my face.

The upside is that I now see just how much of the nastiness there is.

The downside is that I now hold my breath for much of the trip to and from work.

-- The coldness.

Yeah, this one is obvious.

And although I have no real reason to complain, as (1) I live in Chicago, (2) it�s seasonally appropriate, and (3) we�ve had a mild winter thus far, I�m still complaining just a little bit.


All right. Enough bitching out is being winter. It won�t be warm until June, so I best just shut it until then.

This weekend was a good one. Things were a little turned around for Benito and me, as we didn�t go to the suburbs at all, didn�t go grocery shopping, and we stayed at my place the whole weekend.

On funny moment: I walked him down to the workout room on Sunday afternoon so he could watch the game while on the treadmill and I could finish another chapter for my class. To get into the workout room, you need a key card. We got into the hallway using the keycard, and I directed him into the workout room from there.

I walked back into the hallway, only to remember that I need that keycard to get back to the elevators.

I knocked on the door that leads to the hallway that leads to the door of the workout room.

I banged on the door that leads to the hallway that leads to the door of the workout room.

I gave up and explored my other options.

The stairs were blocked with an �Emergency Only -- Big Noise Will Happen if You Open This� sign, so that was nixed.

The other door that leads to the hallway I was stuck in was undeniably locked. Meh.

I opened the door to the parking garage, seeing it as a way out. However, I was in my socks and a t-shirt -- definitely no good for running down four flights of stairs, hoping and praying that there wasn�t a keycard lock at the bottom of the stairwell, and then walking around the building to enter through the front door.

One problem with this little room was that it was cold. I found a small vent that emitted some heat, and I stayed crouched near it.

After a good twenty minutes of turning from front to back to warm my entire body, the only other guy in the workout room came out and let me into the elevator bay area.

Yes, he laughed at me.

And 20ish minutes later when Benito came to the condo for more water, he also laughed at me.

Sometimes my life is a sitcom.


Benito went out of town this week for work, and today�s crappy weather in Chicago postponed his flight. When it was announced that the flight was cancelled, he told me that the next flight outta there wasn�t until Sunday.

Yeah, I fell for it.

I was getting all, �Nuh-uh. I don�t think so. You get a flight to Phoenix, stay the night with AZ-Amber, and then fly home from there tomorrow morning,� when he let me into his joke and said he was leaving in a few minutes. He should be landed in Denver by now and just about boarding for Chicago.

Although I don�t usually see him during the week, it�s still nice to know that he�s only a few miles away and talking with him on and off throughout the day. Yeah, it�s silly. Whatever.

He goes away again a couple more times in the upcoming months. Meh. I�m just thankful that I know him and am kissing on him now instead of a few years back when he was always on the road for work.


From a conversation the other night with my dad:

All I want to do is sit in my chair and watch back-to-back episodes of Law and Order until 11 o�clock.

Like father, like daughter...

My L&O lovin� has gotten to the point that I�ve got a crush on both Det. Elliot Stabler and Det. Olivia Benson. It�s sad.

After having no TV for about two years, I�m all about the back-to-back-to-back episodes. I will lose entire evenings to DUM-DUM.

It�s gotten to the point that Benito swears that he�s taking away my TV at the end of the month. How he expects to get it out of my house and into his without my cooperation, I don�t know. But the threat looms.

This week I couldn�t tell you if the TV even worked, as I�ve been moving through the chapters in my class. I only have a couple chapters left, thank goodness. I have a deadline of February 4th to take my final exam, and I need all the time I can get to study for that comprehensive test. Finish the chapters. Study for the test. Take the test.

Soon after that I get my license, park it with a managing broker, and get to get my business on.

BRING IT!


All right. It�s time to head out. I�ve gotta go get my back cracked. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com