CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

DomesticJo Cooks Again

2003-12-02� � 2:12 p.m.
I�m back in a domestic mood these days, something as shocking to me as it should be to you. There was a time when I had a roommate where I handled the girlie things (cooking, cleaning, and shopping) and shirked responsibility for taking out the garbage, washing the dishes, and killing large bugs.

These days I�m plum-pleased with opening a can from the cupboard and then heating and eating it. Sometimes I play veggie roulette, removing the labels from all of my cans so I have a surprise for dinner. Will it be green beans, or will it be that congealed cranberry sauce that is in no way, shape, or form sauce-y? (Sauce-y, no; however, it is indeed both shaped and formed!) Occasionally I end up opening a surprise can of tomatoes which requires heating a grain of some sort, but dinner is usually a no-frills affair.

This greatly contrasts to dinners from three years back. A marinated meat, some veggie, and a starchy side. Casseroles with all sorts of goodies in a cream sauce. Grilled this-and-thats. Goat cheese, kidney beans, and frozen peas over noodles that made a flavorful, adult-like macaroni and cheese. Experiments of the vegetarian and ethnic varieties. On and on and on.

I made these elaborate grocery lists based off of meals, allowing for lunchtime leftovers with a slightly different twist. I separated the must-buy items into Produce, Cold, Can, Dry, Frozen, and Miscellaneous categories, and then I arranged them according to the order they appeared in the grocery store.

Sick, no?

These days I find myself going up each aisle, picking and choosing whatever looks about right. As long as I have a few random cans of stuff and a hearty stock of noodles, I get most of my week�s yum-yums from the produce section.

Keeping it simple, no?

But then I started thinking: Why did I cut into my free time to cook an actual dinner each night way back when?

My auto-answer is that someone else was eating too.

[crickets chirping]

Another thought, spawned from reading too much women�s lib I received on my birthday from a fellow d-lander: If someone else was enough reason for me to take time to cook actual dinner, why aren�t I worth that effort?!

chang! thump! honk!

[If you�re curious, Susan B. Anthony tossed me some of her $1 coins, Margaret Sanger showered me with condoms and diaphragms, and Gloria Steinem bought me a bicycle with a horn!]

So last night I made a real dinner.

I opened a bottle of red wine and poured myself half a glass while tidying up the kitchen. No need to wait for company when there�s good wine to be had!

I chopped little tomatoes and tossed them with lettuce (from a bag) in balsamic vinegar. Screw the Wishbone cheap-y, oily dressings.

I boiled the *good* noodles from the grocery store�s cold section, and then I tossed it with my enhanced spaghetti sauce (the regular Ragu-type stuff with dried red chilies, oregano, and garlic added).

I sat back in my comfy chair, propped my feet up, pushed the kitties away, and enjoyed a most delicious dinner.

Today�s lunch: cucumber and tomatoes in red wine vinaigrette.

Happy Tuesday, all. Good eats!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com