CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Zwan Video

2003-03-20� � 12:46 p.m.
Herbie and I showed up a little late to the video shoot and spend much of the afternoon sitting around, waiting for the crew to get their crap together. McDonald�s hot chocolate keeps us both nourished (hey -- calories are calories) and warm (the first part of the video was shot outside).

We talk with the others hanging around while waiting and waiting. One 19-year-old college student had crayons in her purse, so I drew on the sidewalk. Since no cameras were allowed, I have nothing to show from one of the very few times that I�m pleased with my artistic fluke of an ability.

In a fit of boredom, I also allow her to paint my eyes with purple eye shadow. Herbie vetoes the glitter, saying that he doesn�t want to be seen with me in teeny-bopper regalia.

Finally we get the show on the road and all stand in a crowd. Then we walk down the road carrying signs saying that Zwan is cool and that they are a peaceful bunch. Then we walk back. Then we walk again. Then we walk back. Lather, rinse, repeat. I skipped out after a couple takes to get more hot chocolate and talk with some strangers, and I doubt that I missed much.

The crew dismisses us for a 30 minute break. Herbie and I decide to take advantage of our over 21-ness and proceed to throw back Bud Lights. We maintained our 2:1 ratio, and both giggled our way to the club scene.

Talk about partying like a rockstar! I got a primo spot and carried a red Mylar balloon. Then the band came out to dance with us. Billy Corgan looks like a cross between my friend Ryan and the guy from the 1995 movie Powder. I can�t pick out anyone else from Zwan because nobody else looks like as much of a freak as Billy does. (And I say that in the most friendly way, really...)

Anyway, we all dance for probably an hour and I�m close enough to rub Billy�s head. Why this didn�t come to mind during the filming, I don�t know. But there it was.

When the video is released, I�ll freeze some still shots and see if I can point Herbie or me out. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com