CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Porch Sitting and Early Night Dancing

2003-08-11� � 2:33 p.m.
Lorinda and I met up in the early afternoon, wanting to grab some lunch and head out to the Northalsted Market. We found a diner on Broadway and Addison and leisurely made our way to what ended up being a big festival. Neither of us felt much like squirming through ten thousand of our closest friends to see the 3-pair-of-sunglasses-for-$20 vendor man, the get-your-name-on-a-grain-of-rice vendor lady, or to see the U2 cover band AGAIN, so we lamed out and got some porch chairs from Walgreen�s to go sit on her porch and talk for a while.

Sitting ensued. Conversation flowed. We relaxed and enjoyed the 70-degree weather with no cares in the world.

Man I miss my porch in Austin.

In early summer, my married friend Joel and I would sit on my balcony post-workout, drinking madrases with the expensive rum he brought back from Puerto Rico. Hambone would lounge on the plastic table, and we didn�t dare touch him, knowing that our sweaty hands would make the cat hair stick to our palms. Man, those were some fabulous afternoons.

After several hours of porch-sitting, Brian called us to hang out at his place. We folded our chairs, packed up some beer, and headed to B�s house where a few people were gathering before heading to see Hairbanger�s Ball, an 80�s cover hair band. Lor and I were having no part in this, but we were social for a while.

Everyone had to leave for the show, so L and I considered crashing this party down the road from B�s house... Until we saw how lame the party-goers were. No need to crash an un-fun party, right?

We ended up walking to the usual dance club and shaking ass until about 2 o�clock when we parted ways and went home.

I guess all of that porch-sitting really wore us out for the day... [sigh] Gotta love balmy-breezed summers. Eat your heart out, Austin.


Click back one entry for my Cirque du Soleil update. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com