CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

I've Got this Market Cornered

2006-09-18� � 6:15 p.m.
Well, well. I�ve been a little lax in updating here. Blame it on either not all too much going on or things going on that I don�t want to mention in a public forum. You take your pick on where to properly affix the accusation, and let�s move along from there, shall we?

The other day I posted a personal ad on Craig�s List to see what kind of response I�d get. Most people post ads that say things like �I want a kind man who works out and wants a long-term relationship.�

This is not how to post a personal ad.

What I�ve found as key is that you ask very specifically for what you want. If you want someone who likes to ride his bike along the lakefront path, you�re in luck! If you want someone who shares your love of garden gnomes, I bet he�s out there! If you want a millionaire sex freak with a boat, he�ll respond. If you want someone who works on the 37th floor of your work building, someone�s gonna notice the ad and pass it around the entire company and then invite you to happy hour.

In my case, I posted a very specific ad. I explained why I was looking for someone with those characteristics, and I explained why I�d be a good match for that person. All in all, it�s a solid ad, well on its way to a Best Of posting.

The response has thus far been really good. I�m getting a very specific subset of men who are absolutely eating it up that I�ve requested their attentions, no matter how nerdy they might be.

Then today I got an email from a female telling me that my ad was posted in an online forum.

I post in the CL personals section, and I get reposted where a bunch of guys who fit the main requirement I request are readily hanging out. Talk about target marketing!

If nothing else, this has been fun. Here�s to hoping I find the actuary of my dreams... �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com